Editing less and css files

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
dcnola
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Editing less and css files

Post by dcnola » Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:51 pm

I'm new to Joomla and less files, although I'm very familiar with html and css. I've got a template on my site from template monster and I'm trying to edit some of the colors. In the theme's css folder template.css is a 10k or so line css file where I can find the various variables I'm looking for and edit. This does work, but from what I've read it seems I would be better doing this by editing the less files.

I looked through these files and the template.less file is just using variables from the variables.less file. For example @grayDark: #333333;. I've tried to edit the values in this variables.less file, then save it, hit the compile less button (I'm doing this all from within the template manager page on the back end), and then clear the cache. When I go reload the front end pages nothing has changed.

I assumed this would change any place using the @grayDark variable, to the blue I changed it to, but nothing. I tried to change another couple of the colors, compiled the file again, and then even compiled the template.less file since I figured maybe this is generating the template.css file. This didn't do anything either. What am I doing wrong?

When I changed the template.css file it did show my changes, but I thought on compile of the .less files it would just overwrite this .css file. I tried it, and my changes to the .css file stayed. Maybe I'm just not getting how this is supposed to work?

guywalder
Joomla! Explorer