[protostar template] Having logo and main menu on same line.

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Sslaxx
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

[protostar template] Having logo and main menu on same line.

Post by Sslaxx » Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:04 pm

I suspect (hope?) this is relatively simple, but as the subject says, currently the logo (a small image) is above the main menu bar, which is a waste of space. I'm using protostar (to be precise, a copy of it) for the site's theme (at least as present, if I can find a free theme more suited for my client's site then I'll switch).

So, the question is: how do I have the menu on the right, and the site logo directly to its left?
Last edited by toivo on Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved to Templates

Zemplate
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: [protostar template] Having logo and main menu on same l

Post by Zemplate » Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:18 pm

You can put the menu into position-0. You need to assign two classes to the menu module in the Advanced tab in the Module Class Suffix area. navigation and nav-pills.

Leave a space in front and between each class name, otherwise Joomla appends it to the default class name for that position.

These classes will then use the classes in template.css for the proper behavior for the menu.

There may be some other tweaks or additional styles that you want to add to a custom stylesheet.