Black outline around all characters - JA Simpli

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Plientje
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Black outline around all characters - JA Simpli

Postby Plientje » Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:10 pm

For better readabillity I'd like to have all characters (text, menu items) to automatically get a black outline, without changing the font color. I found this old post: https://css-tricks.com/adding-stroke-to-web-text/

How to get his to work ? Where do I add the css code ? What else to do ? Is this even still valid, being a 2010 post ? Is there a better option ? I could not really find a whole lot on the subject.

I tried adding it to custom.css already, to no avail.

effrit
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: Black outline around all characters - JA Simpli

Postby effrit » Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:26 pm

Code: Select all

body{
    text-shadow: 1px 1px 0 #000, 0px 0px 0 #000, -1px -1px 0 #000, -1px 1px 0 #000, 1px 1px 0 #000 !important;
}

sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Postby sozzled » Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:42 pm

Plientje wrote:For better readability I'd like to have all characters (text, menu items) to automatically get a black outline, without changing the font color.
For better readability I would suggest removing the patterned background image but that's just my humble opinion.

Yes, you could use a combination of -webkit-text-stroke-color and -webkit-text-stroke-width styling in your CSS. Be careful what you ask for, though. 8)