the effect of caching and number of positions on speed

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
kiasati
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

the effect of caching and number of positions on speed

Post by kiasati » Tue May 08, 2018 6:07 am

Hi

i have made a template and to make it fast, i've kept the number of positions and modules to the minimum.

now at the top of the template i have three positions, "navigation", "breadcrumbs" and a position named "top"
there is only one module in each of them.

i'm wondering can i combine them in one position named "top" or it is standard to have "navigation" and "breadcrumbs" positions in Joomla templates?

by the way, does it combining them effect on template speed? or because i have enabled caching it doesn't make any changes on template speed?
Last edited by toivo on Thu May 10, 2018 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved to 3.x Templates
Learning never stops...

starazure
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: the effect of caching and number of positions on speed

Post by starazure » Thu May 10, 2018 2:39 pm

kiasati wrote:Hi

i have made a template and to make it fast, i've kept the number of positions and modules to the minimum.

now at the top of the template i have three positions, "navigation", "breadcrumbs" and a position named "top"
there is only one module in each of them.

i'm wondering can i combine them in one position named "top" or it is standard to have "navigation" and "breadcrumbs" positions in Joomla templates?