Altering the main menu in protostar

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
Nickinamillion
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:31 am

Altering the main menu in protostar

Post by Nickinamillion » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:14 pm

I have been trying to change the look of my protostar template. I have manage to alter it's look, but only in unintended ways. I tried this:
.nav {
font-size: 25px;
list-style: none;
line-height: 1.5;
padding: none; }
The font size increases but the line height remains the same, puzzling.
I have a vertical list in Pos-8
How do I increase the size of the font, space the words out move, and maybe show the selected (active) menu?
Last edited by imanickam on Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x to the forum Templates for Joomla! 3.x

User avatar
JTema
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 573
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Post by JTema » Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:31 am

hello try .nav li a selector like this
.nav li a{
font-size: 25px;
list-style: none;
line-height: 1.5;
padding: none; }
http://www.joomlatema.net - Joomla Extensions and Templates
http://wtnews.joomlatema.net/ - WT News Responsive Joomla News And Magazine Template

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4689
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Post by AMurray » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:46 am

Be sure to either make a copy of the template, or put your CSS in a file called custom.css (or user.css - not sure what the file should be called), otherwise, it will be overwritten, and changes lost next time you update joomla.
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

Nickinamillion
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:31 am

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Post by Nickinamillion » Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:34 am

Thank you JTema, thats it, the penny has dropped.
Thank you AMurray, yes I do make copies of such file.

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27063
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Post by imanickam » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:31 pm

AMurray wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:46 am
put your CSS in a file called custom.css (or user.css - not sure what the file should be called
For the template Protostar, the custom css file that contains user defined css entry is called user.css. This file must be located in the directory \templates\protostar\css.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged


Post Reply

Return to “Templates for Joomla! 3.x”