Page 1 of 1

Altering the main menu in protostar

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:14 pm
by Nickinamillion
I have been trying to change the look of my protostar template. I have manage to alter it's look, but only in unintended ways. I tried this:
.nav {
font-size: 25px;
list-style: none;
line-height: 1.5;
padding: none; }
The font size increases but the line height remains the same, puzzling.
I have a vertical list in Pos-8
How do I increase the size of the font, space the words out move, and maybe show the selected (active) menu?

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:31 am
by JTema
hello try .nav li a selector like this
.nav li a{
font-size: 25px;
list-style: none;
line-height: 1.5;
padding: none; }

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:46 am
by AMurray
Be sure to either make a copy of the template, or put your CSS in a file called custom.css (or user.css - not sure what the file should be called), otherwise, it will be overwritten, and changes lost next time you update joomla.

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:34 am
by Nickinamillion
Thank you JTema, thats it, the penny has dropped.
Thank you AMurray, yes I do make copies of such file.

Re: Altering the main menu in protostar

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:31 pm
by imanickam
AMurray wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:46 am
put your CSS in a file called custom.css (or user.css - not sure what the file should be called
For the template Protostar, the custom css file that contains user defined css entry is called user.css. This file must be located in the directory \templates\protostar\css.