standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
User avatar
cherchri
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Austria

standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by cherchri » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:26 am

Hi community,

don't know if this belongs to this forum but I try anyway.
I use the standard joomla menu system on a multilangual site but the core outputs me the "active" menu class always at the same menu item. Without exception.

I have two menus for different languages: DE and EN
Also two modules to display them on the site.
Each menu has a menu item marked as "home", one "home" for the german language and one "home" for the english language.

Regardless what I configure I get the "active" class only for the "home" menu item of the german menu. It does not matter on which menu item I click, the "active" class sticks just to this one menu item. No "active" class in the second menu (for english language) at all. >:(

Can anybody point me in the right direction to solve this?

Thanks a lot!
cherchri
der mensch lebt nicht vom brot allein

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2338
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:37 pm

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by waarnemer » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:13 pm

What are the aliases for the "home" menu items?

They are supposed to be unique.

User avatar
cherchri
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Austria

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by cherchri » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:02 pm

yes, they are. totally different aliases.
der mensch lebt nicht vom brot allein

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2338
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:37 pm

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by waarnemer » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:00 pm

the content you are pointing to, are these different content pages or are you pointing to the same page (for testing purposes).

If so, it will probably the top ID of the menu item it is assigned to.

User avatar
cherchri
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Austria

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by cherchri » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:31 pm

I'm working on a local copy from the actual page (which is online). The menu items point to the featured article view, one showing german content and one englisch content, but that is only because they have different language filter. If I'm getting that right, they show the "same" content.
But for testing purposes I changed that setting to both items pointing to a different categories. With no luck so far. Same behaviour.
der mensch lebt nicht vom brot allein

diaz365
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by diaz365 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:21 pm

Try using a third party menu system. Class are easy-err :)
JED
https://extensions.joomla.org/category/ ... u-systems/

these are some of the Class via Module hard code.

Code: Select all

/*********************** mod_menu ***************************/
/*\modules\mod_menu\tmpl\default_url.php*/

/*\modules\mod_menu\tmpl\default_component.php*/
span.image-title{}

/*\modules\mod_menu\tmpl\default_separator.php*/
span.separator{}


/*\modules\mod_menu\tmpl\default_heading.php*/
span.nav-header{}


/*\modules\mod_menu\tmpl\default.php*/
ul.nav menu mod-list{}
ul.nav-child unstyled small{}


Code: Select all

/*Module Wrappers*/
/*\templates\system\html\modules.php*/

/* module suffix */

/* none */
/* no wrapper  */

/*module */
.module{}
h3.module{}
div.module{}


/*Html5 Module Wrapper*/
.moduletable{}
h3.moduletable{}
div.moduletable{}
table.moduletable{}

/*Table Module Wrapper*/
/*div.moduletable{}
table.moduletable{}*/

/*horz Module Wrapper*/
/*table.moduletable{}*/

/*xhtml ModuleWrapper */
/*div.moduletable{}*/

/*Rounded Module Wrapper*/
/*div.module{}*/

/*module outline*/
div.mod-preview{}
div.mod-preview-info{}
div.mod-preview-position{}
div.mod-preview-wrapper{}
div.mod-preview-style{}
/*end Module Wrappers*/

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2338
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:37 pm

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by waarnemer » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:40 pm

disregard the idea of using a "third party" solution.. it will not solve the issue.

Do you have a url to look at? please send by PM if you do...

User avatar
cherchri
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Austria

Re: standard menu classes "active" gone wrong

Post by cherchri » Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:42 am

sent you a PM
der mensch lebt nicht vom brot allein


Post Reply

Return to “Templates for Joomla! 3.x”