Trouble Changing Favicon

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
malloryw
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:57 pm

Trouble Changing Favicon

Post by malloryw » Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:54 pm

Hi, I followed the documentation of this post (https://docs.joomla.org/Changing_the_site_favicon) to change my site's favicon. I did this back in April and it is still not showing up. I know sometimes it is difficult to see the favicon change in browser, but I have cleared my browser cache entirely, checked on different browsers and machines and it is still the default Joomla icon. I looked in the index.php file as this documentation suggested but did not see any code like "<link rel="shortcut icon" so I can't see if the template is redirecting another location for the favicon file. Any ideas what else I can do to change this? I would really like it to be customized.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9740
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Trouble Changing Favicon

Post by sozzled » Fri Sep 06, 2019 11:04 pm

Changing the site favicon is easy. Seeing the effects of that change is sometimes difficult.

Yes, I'm sure that on hundreds of occasions, I've uploaded a favicon.ico file, I've cleared the site cache, disabled site caching, cleared the browser cache, forced a browser refresh and, y'know, the same old favicon is still there. And, to further complicate matters, when I access the site with a different browser (or different device) and I haven't used that browser (or device) before, the favicon "magically" changes.

Some images (like favicon files) are buried deep in the browser cache. In effect, you may need to completely clear all your browser history before the changed favicon.ico is downloaded.

On the other hand, it all depends which folder you upload your .ico file to. The documentation is correct: the favicon.ico file needs to be uploaded to the folder matching the template for the site that you're accessing at the time. Are we talking about Protostar, Isis, Beez3, Hathor or something else?

I grew tired of having to replace the .ico file every time I updated J! and I developed a plugin to take care of things. Just few thoughts to consider.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

diaz365
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble Changing Favicon

Post by diaz365 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:34 pm

Need to copy favicon to the root of template folder.
and add to link code to the index.php template page.
make sure its the full path.
see code on favicon page.
you link it like an image path to the page.

favicon
https://www.favicon-generator.org/

https://favicon.io/

TheINIC
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:27 am
Location: Earth - but that too is temporary.
Contact:

Re: Trouble Changing Favicon

Post by TheINIC » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:33 am

sozzled wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 11:04 pm
Changing the site favicon is easy. ..........And, to further complicate matters, when I access the site with a different browser (or different device) and I haven't used that browser (or device) before, the favicon "magically" changes.
......

I grew tired of having to replace the .ico file every time I updated J! and I developed a plugin to take care of things. Just few thoughts to consider.
I get what you say, but I have the same issue with 3.9.12, and even using another device with another browser that has never been to the site before, still shows Jooma's ICO, not the file I uploaded.

I went through ever folder changing any favicon I found, then had a friend who also was never at the site, and there is no change. Maybe 3.x doesn't allow the change?

Yeah - cleared the site cache, Joomla cache my cache and google cache, and tried with Opera, FF, Chrome and friend with a MAC.

Contrary to Joomla docs, there is no " The path is ..\libraries\joomla\document\html\html.php" - at least not in my version.
Plus there is no "<link rel="shortcut icon"" in any file, anywhere. How old is the Joomla doc "Changing_the_site_favicon?"

I cannot find, using that Search option for Forum, any addendum for any of the last few updates that refer to this problem.

\SIDEBAR
I downloaded a full copy of the entire site and used grepWIN to search all, non of the above is anywhere in the site.
/SIDEBAR

Template = Protostar and it's a one-page site with just a Contact form. ALL Google-antics disabled.

Ideas?
Official Head Computer Whisperer(Someone had to do it.)

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9740
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Trouble Changing Favicon

Post by sozzled » Fri Apr 10, 2020 4:01 am

TheINIC wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:33 am
Maybe 3.x doesn't allow the change?
It's not a question of J! 3-dot-something not allowing the change. It's not even a question about J! something-dot-something "not allowing" you to change the file favicon.ico.

You can change the file as often as you like. You can even delete it, if you want to.

When you update Joomla, from one version to another version, the file is replaced.

Sometimes, when you change the favicon.ico, the "old" file seems as if it's in use—lingering around and refusing to budge—in your browser cache; you need to flush the cache. I mean, really flush the cache. Clear it right out! I've spent countless [wasted] hours fiddling around with the favicon file and, like I said, I developed a plugin to handle everything neatly without wasting my time.

As for the documentation ...
... the doco is technically OK (as far as I can see). Like all doco, it depends on one's technical skill level whether it makes sense or not.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)


Post Reply

Return to “Templates for Joomla! 3.x”