Protostar: Strange behaviour

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Locked
sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Sun May 16, 2021 11:03 am

A strange behaviour has just appeared on my multilingual website using the Protostar template.

I have a border around the images that was created in user.css long time ago.

Code: Select all

img {
    border: 1px solid Black;
    border-radius: 5px;
}
Meanwhile I was adding some banners, using the default Joomla Banner system, all of a sudden the borders around the images on the pages of the Spanish language version of the site vanished, but they're still in place on the pages of the English language version of the site.

When inspecting the code one can see that the following code is added only to the Spanish language version of the site:

Code: Select all

<style>
img {
    border: 0 !important;
}
This code in <style> does only show up in the Spanish language version, not in the English language version. Strange!

At the beginning when the page is being loaded the border is shown during a split second but then disappears.

https://terrazas-del-rodeo.com/es/

Where on earth does this <style> code come from?

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Sun May 16, 2021 11:41 am

It looks like the code that mess it up comes from <inline style sheet #2>.

What are the purpose with "inline style sheets", where to find them and how are they created?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by Webdongle » Sun May 16, 2021 2:52 pm

I see borders not the code you say. image please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Mon May 17, 2021 7:12 am

Here is a screen dump where one can see that the image is lacking its border, which is due to the code shown in <inline style sheet #2>. This strange behaviour only appears for the Spanish main page "Portada" (https://terrazas-del-rodeo.com/es/).
Inline-Style-Sheet.jpg
The code in <inline style sheet #2> is:

Code: Select all

@media only screen and (max-width: 580px) {
 .brnone {
  display: none;
 }
 .bodyn {
  width: 320px !important            
 }
 .ancho {
  width: 100% !important            
 }
 .oculto {
  display: none !important            
 }
 .titular {
  font-size: 20px!important            
 }
 .texto {
  font-size: 18px!important            
 }
 .texto span {
  font-size: 30px!important            
 }
 .boton1 {
  float: none!important;
  margin: 0 auto!important            
 }
 .boton2 {
  float: none!important;
  margin: 15px auto 0!important            
 }
 .logo {
  float: none!important;
  margin: 0 auto!important            
 }
}
.Snippet,
.ExternalClass {
 font-size: 13px !important        
}
td,
tr {
 border-collapse: collapse !important        
}
* {
 line-height: 120% !important        
}
a {
 cursor: pointer !important;
 border: 0 !important        
}
img {
 border: 0 !important        
}
Beside that the border of the images, which is most noticeable, even some other alteration of the style appears.

I've emptied the caches and tried with different browsers, but the result is the same.

I just don't understand what creates the code in <inline style sheet #2>.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Mon May 17, 2021 8:17 am

It looks like the strange behavior was caused by a banner.
Last edited by sokrates_mx5 on Mon May 17, 2021 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44093
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by Webdongle » Mon May 17, 2021 9:25 am

Which browser are you using? The border shows for me.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: Protostar: Strange behaviour

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Mon May 17, 2021 9:47 am

Webdongle wrote:
Mon May 17, 2021 9:25 am
Which browser are you using? The border shows for me.
The screen shot is from Firefox. I tried it on Edge and Chrome too.

The good thing is that I've sourced this issue to one of the banners that was displayed. Now it seems to work as it should again :)


Locked

Return to “Templates for Joomla! 3.x”