Help me understand the best way to protect my template changes during upgrades.

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
CBI Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Help me understand the best way to protect my template changes during upgrades.

Post by CBI Web » Sun May 23, 2021 2:37 pm

This was touched on briefly in another thread I started, but I wanted to start a dedicated thread for the topic.

I read in the documentation that it's a good practice to copy a template, make my changes there, and I am safe from losing my changes when upgrading.

I was also advised that it's better to not do that, because I won't get any fixes that an update contains, because the update won't affect the template copy.

The changes I want to make will be mostly css changes (in a custom user.css file), but will likely include changes other than css.

So what's my best option?

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Help me understand the best way to protect my template changes during upgrades.

Post by sozzled » Sun May 23, 2021 4:17 pm

Where does the documentation say it's better—or best practice—to "copy a template" just for the sake of making some customised sytle changes (e.g. changing the background colour of an HTML element)? What URL are you quoting from?

That's a way that guarantees you won't be able to apply bug fixes to a template when you update J! or, in the case of a third-party template, extension updates when they're released.

CBI Web
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Help me understand the best way to protect my template changes during upgrades.

Post by CBI Web » Sun May 23, 2021 4:37 pm