where to test drive new template on large website Topic is solved

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
taurus1234
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

where to test drive new template on large website

Post by taurus1234 » Fri Feb 18, 2022 6:49 pm

I have a large website that is very old looking, although is always kept up to date and is running Joomla 3.10.6 right now. (But the template looks more like its original Joomla 1.5 site, if you remember way back then.)

I want to experiment with new templates for a fresh, modern look on the site, which is currently hosted with Siteground. I basically understand the process of changing to a new template in the backend. What I don't understand is...where can I do this on a shadow site so that I am not blowing up my active site while I am experimenting?

Do I just copy my files from the admin directory into a new subfolder and just play around there? I think the site is too large for me to be able to put a copy on my own laptop.

I am obviously not a developer and I am surprised I have been able to get this far all these years, frankly.

Thank you to anyone who can point me in the right direction.

Linda

webiedesign
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: where to test drive new template on large website

Post by webiedesign » Fri Feb 18, 2022 9:57 pm