Are Joomla!'s 3.x sessions less secure than Joomla!'s 1.x sessions?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: Bernard T, mandville, fcoulter, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
misterade
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Are Joomla!'s 3.x sessions less secure than Joomla!'s 1.x sessions?

Post by misterade » Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:38 pm

While I was performing some tests I noticed a great difference in the way sessions are managed by Joomla! 3.x and Joomla! 1.x.

In Joomla! 3.x, upon creating a session, the value of the cookie sent back to the browser is saved in the database in #__session.session_id.
As a result, a possible SQL injection vulnerability in Joomla! would allow an attacker to easily perform a session hijacking by dumping the #_session table.
https://www.trustwave.com/Resources/Spi ... =0&month=0

However, Joomla! 1.x creates and store sessions in a completely different way, and as a result a SQL injection like the previous one would not allow an attacker to perform a session hijack. In fact, in Joomla! 1.x the cookie value sent back to the browser is not the one stored in #__session.session_id.
In Joomla! 1.x the function generateId() is responsible for generating a unique session id.
It does it by generating a "random number" $randnum and a session id $new_session_id.
The value of $new_session_id is the result of come concatenation and md5 operations using $randnum as seed.
Finally, $randnum is used as the cookie value sent back to the browser and $new_session_id is the one stored in the database.

Code: Select all

function generateId() {
         $failsafe       = 20;
         $randnum        = 0;

while ($failsafe--) {
                 $randnum                = md5( uniqid( microtime(), 1 ) );