More and more Users Register with Not Enabled & Not Activated State

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: Bernard T, mandville, fcoulter, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Estranghero
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

More and more Users Register with Not Enabled & Not Activated State

Post by Estranghero » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:39 pm

Hi, may I interfere in this one? Because I got exactly the same issue (I added a screenshot). I already installed RS Firewall and ose-antihacker. But still I'm getting more and more users :-\ ! Is there a way to stop that? my site is: "austrialandscapes.org"
best regards!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by imanickam on Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split from the topic https://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=714&t=957950. In the future, for your issues, please create a separate topic. Even though the symptoms my be the same, the root cause could be different.

sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Re: Many, many new users, not enabled or activated

Post by sozzled » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:09 pm

I understand the situation and I empathise with the problem. I have a similar personal experience with a website that I help manage. Last year this website was being frequently bombarded with new account registrations in spite of using CAPTCHA, agreement to TOS or having to complete mandatory items. Nothing seemed to stop this occurring. As far as we could tell, the email addresses were all fake. After the email addresses were then created, the people using this technique would then complete the registration process and then flood the forum with spam.