Site showing Index of / on google

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ssente01
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Site showing Index of / on google

Post by ssente01 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:23 am

Hi everyone,

I´ve been looking up if there where any topics with the same problem as mine, but couldn´t find any, so I hope I´m asking this in the right place.

I had a joomla site, since 2009, if I´m not mistaken, but it was still the old 1.5 version. I had stopped updating Joomla because I´m no expert and everytime I did it, my site would go down and I had to ask for help.

Beggining of this year though, I decided to update Joomla to the 2.5 version and I completly messed up the whole thing, lost all the content in the site, all.
I had Akeba backup instaled in the site, but didn´t know how to recover the backup, so I asked my host provider to just reset my account and start everything from scratch.

It was a friend who built the first site for me, I just added the content, so didn´t know a thing about building sites, been learning the hard way, lol...

So, I have a clean account and cpanel, bought a template and instaled everything with "quickstart", not so dificult, but somehow, something went wrong and I had a 404 error.
I asked for help to my host provider and they said they didn´t work for google and I had to wait until it cleared.

And so I did, for some months I quit the idea of rebuilding the site and now I´m starting again, no 404 errors anymore, installed the whole thing again with quickstart and now everything seems to be working, but when I do a google search for my domain, it shows:

Index of /