Hacking attempt?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
MarkRS
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Hacking attempt?

Post by MarkRS » Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:00 pm

I have half a dozen or so instances of the error below in my hosting error log. It says

Code: Select all

[cgi:error] [pid 13091:tid 140044698371840] [client 66.249.64.47:37176] AH01215: Use of uninitialized value in pattern match (m//) at /usr/share/perl5/Email/Simple/Header.pm line 66, line 1.: <homedir>/public_html/index.php
This is a J! 3.9.22 / 23 site. It was at .22 when the first error was logged and was updated to .23 before the last error.

Firstly I'm surprised that index.php should be the referrer, I thought it was protected from calling anything like this, and secondly, even though I have root access on the server I can't see the file that apparently is raising the error.

Is the cause of this error something to be concerned about?

TIA
It's a community, the more we all contribute, the better it will be.

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Hacking attempt?

Post by toivo » Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:24 pm

MarkRS wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:00 pm
Firstly I'm surprised that index.php should be the referrer
It is also strange that a client from an IP address range registered to Google LLC attempts to run a Perl module from /usr/share/perl5. The IP address can of course be spoofed and the site compromised to become a spam bot.

Compare the contents of the file index.php in the main Joomla folder to the file index.php in the installation package. Please do not post any hack code here.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

MarkRS
Joomla! Explorer