Malware detected in scans

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
stuffdone
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Malware detected in scans

Post by stuffdone » Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:25 pm

I have a site that keeps tripping malware scans. I cannot figure out how this infection is taking place.

Nothing so far seems to have any negative on site that I can see at the moment.

Joomla and all extensions are up to date and using PHP7.4

I found a "gif" image that was actually code which was removed.

In the default image directory I keep a .htaccess file to prevent scripts from running from that directory. I also use .htaccess to prevent access to the /administrator directory. I disable it when I need to administer content.

Code: Select all

{HEX}php.inject.miner2a2.484 : /home/yourpriv/public_html/plugins/content/finder/.73865c3c.ico => /usr/local/maldetect/quarantine/.73865c3c.ico.1831021480
{HEX}php.inject.miner2a2.484 : /home/yourpriv/public_html/media/com_fields/js/.432e1bdf.ico => /usr/local/maldetect/quarantine/.432e1bdf.ico.986211269
{HEX}php.inject.miner2a2.484 : /home/yourpriv/public_html/libraries/src/Image/.7065e556.ico => /usr/local/maldetect/quarantine/.7065e556.ico.216614783
{HEX}php.inject.miner2a2.484 : /home/yourpriv/public_html/plugins/extension/jce/.3b88361f.ico => /usr/local/maldetect/quarantine/.3b88361f.ico.2798422822
{HEX}php.inject.miner2a2.484 : /home/yourpriv/public_html/plugins/system/redirect/.9965bd08.ico => /usr/local/maldetect/quarantine/.9965bd08.ico.2055128234