Code injection vulnerability in PHPMailer

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
mamboline
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Code injection vulnerability in PHPMailer

Post by mamboline » Tue May 18, 2021 7:47 am

Hey,

I received a warning from my hosting provider about code injection vulnerability in PHPMailer: /libraries/vendor/phpmailer/phpmailer/class.phpmailer.php

I have the latest Joomla v3.9.26, checked the file "class.phpmailer.php" and it's the same as the original file from the Joomla installation. Found this about PHPMailer vulnerability:
No action required for Joomla users, the updated library will be included in the next scheduled release and additional mechanisms exist in Joomla core to prevent triggering the vulnerability. Users of the PHPMailer library separate from Joomla are advised to upgrade to 5.2.20 or newer ASAP.
Now, I am wondering what to do to fix this and satisfy my hosting provider? From the code, I see Joomla uses PHPMailer v5.2.28, while the current version on GitHub is v6.4.1: https://github.com/PHPMailer/PHPMailer/

Please help.

Thanks,
Milos

mamboline
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Code injection vulnerability in PHPMailer

Post by mamboline » Tue May 18, 2021 7:56 am

One more info... My hosting provider uses the Patchman module for cPanel and it lets me "patch" the file I mentioned. I did that. Now I see the file "class.phpmailer.php" is bigger a little bit, and according to my hosting provider, now it's safe.