Akeeba Backup

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
heleng
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:04 pm

Akeeba Backup

Post by heleng » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:06 pm

I have updated my (very small) site to 3.9.13 and I am now trying to do my first site backup. I have just installed Akeeba Backup but when I ran the configuration wizard, I got a message: Configuration Wizard Failure Akeeba Backup detected that your server requires a maximum execution time that is too low to be practical. You are better off switching hosts or asking your host to increase PHP's maximum execution time and lift any CPU usage limitations from your account.

What does this mean and how can I fix it so that I can do a back up?

User avatar
bruno28
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:41 am
Location: Chartres, France
Contact:

Re: Akeeba Backup

Post by bruno28 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:14 pm

heleng wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:06 pm
I have updated my (very small) site to 3.9.13 and I am now trying to do my first site backup. I have just installed Akeeba Backup but when I ran the configuration wizard, I got a message: Configuration Wizard Failure Akeeba Backup detected that your server requires a maximum execution time that is too low to be practical. You are better off switching hosts or asking your host to increase PHP's maximum execution time and lift any CPU usage limitations from your account.

What does this mean and how can I fix it so that I can do a back up?
Hello heleng

Do as they said, contact your host

He will do it for you or inform you how to do it
Cordialement, Bruno28 :)
Joomla! 3.9.13 - php 7.3
https://www.bp2i.fr/ - https://www.moneglisesurle.net/

User avatar
mjparadac
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1899
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:58 pm

Re: Akeeba Backup

Post by mjparadac » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:18 pm

If you have access to the PHP.ini file, you can increase the execution time, but if you don't have access to that, you should ask for assistance from your web host.

Akeeba needs the execution time to be high to perform the tasks properly.

Regards,
Joomla Community Ambassador for A2 Hosting | A2 Hosting - Our speed, your success | https://www.a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37457
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Akeeba Backup

Post by Webdongle » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:42 pm

http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

heleng
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: Akeeba Backup

Post by heleng » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:45 am

Many thanks to all for your helpful suggestions. I'll do the easiest one first and contact the host.


Post Reply

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 3.x”