OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages Topic is solved

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:35 pm

I've realized that the sitemaps are not shown with usual xml-tags and the format is partly taken from my customization of the Protostar template. Furthermore, an error message are shown in the sitemap pages. I'm not completely sure for how long it's been like this, but I think it might have happened after upgrade to OSMap Free 4.2.37 (September 28 2020).

https://terrazas-del-rodeo.com/en/compo ... format=xml

https://terrazas-del-rodeo.com/es/compo ... format=xml

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22841
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by pe7er » Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:43 pm

I am using Joomla 3.9.22 + OSMap Free 4.2.37 on one of my sites without problems.

Could you try Components > OSMap Free > open your sitemap, save it and test again?

Could you unpublish all your sitemaps & test again, and publish + test the sitemaps one-by one?
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:28 pm

pe7er wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:43 pm
I am using Joomla 3.9.22 + OSMap Free 4.2.37 on one of my sites without problems.
Good to know that it works on your site. I'm still on Joomla 3.9.21, but I can't believe it should make a difference.

I've already opened and saved the sitemaps, but it didn't make any difference. I only have one sitemap, but since the site is multilingual then two sitemaps are automatically created underneath Links.

I've even tested to create a new sitemap, but there's no change.

I wonder if the problem could be related to the fact that the site is multilingual.

I might have to test to uninstall OSMaps and install it again, even if I don't expect that it will solve the problem either.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:19 pm

sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:28 pm
I might have to test to uninstall OSMaps and install it again, even if I don't expect that it will solve the problem either.
It didn't solve the problem either :(

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:46 pm

I realized that under Sitemap Links both News and Images generate an error message: "The requested page can't be found.". As already mentioned XML is not in the usual xml-format and contains an error message too. The only thing that seems to be shown right is HTML.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:03 am

If you think it's not working try submitting a bug report to them https://www.joomlashack.com/free-support/
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

annahersh
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by annahersh » Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:25 am

sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:35 pm
an error message are shown in the sitemap pages.
The error shown is Call to a member function getType() on null which indicates the model is not loaded or the query is not returning a value.

Enable error reporting and debug in the global system config to get a report of the source file(s) that may be outdated (especially if you recently updated to PHP 7.4).

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:29 am

Webdongle wrote:
Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:03 am
If you think it's not working try submitting a bug report to them https://www.joomlashack.com/free-support/
Thanks, it's done now.

User avatar
DV-admin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:24 am
Location: Genova
Contact:

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by DV-admin » Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:03 am

Unfortunately I had to stop using this sitemap because of errors. I switched to JSitemaps a while ago.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:43 am

DV-admin wrote:
Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:03 am
Unfortunately I had to stop using this sitemap because of errors. I switched to JSitemaps a while ago.
Good to know I'm not the only one experiencing errors with OSMap.

I'm just testing SchuWeb Sitemap and the xml-output looks like expected. I've just submitted it to Google and its status is now Success. I'll have a look at JSitemaps if I won't be happy with SchuWeb Sitemap.

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22841
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by pe7er » Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:55 am

sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:28 pm
I wonder if the problem could be related to the fact that the site is multilingual.
My 3.9.22 website where OSMaps works correctly, is also multilingual (EN+NL).
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:37 pm

pe7er wrote:
Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:55 am
My 3.9.22 website where OSMaps works correctly, is also multilingual (EN+NL).
Thanks, that's good to know.

The next step will be to upgrade Joomla from 3.9.21 to 3.9.22 and see if that will make any difference.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:18 pm

annahersh wrote:
Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:25 am
sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:35 pm
an error message are shown in the sitemap pages.
The error shown is Call to a member function getType() on null which indicates the model is not loaded or the query is not returning a value.

Enable error reporting and debug in the global system config to get a report of the source file(s) that may be outdated (especially if you recently updated to PHP 7.4).
Thanks, I just realized that I've missed your kind and informative reply.

I think is about six months ago since I updated to PHP 7.4.

I'll have to enable error reporting and debug to see what it will show, but it might have to wait some time since I've already disabled OSMap and is trying JL Sitemap.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:50 pm

sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:29 am
Webdongle wrote:
Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:03 am
If you think it's not working try submitting a bug report to them https://www.joomlashack.com/free-support/
Thanks, it's done now.
The first response was that they wanted to get access to the back-end of my site. I had to decline it due to the kind of content being published. Then I got the following reply: "Sorry, as a Free user, we can't dig this deep for you."

I'm fully aware that people need to make their living, but I see the plugins that are offered for free as a "window" to show one's products. Then it becomes important that the free products works well to build confidence for people to spend money on their more advanced paid products. When there's no interest in supporting free products, then I'm not interested in spending money on the more advanced paid products either.

I moved on to SchuWeb Sitemap and was hopping it even could be used to make sitemaps that also include links created by Phoca Gallery, JEvents and AdsManager. Unfortunately, SchuWeb Sitemap doesn't seem to work on multilingual sites.

Now I'm testing JL Sitemap that works on multilingual sites. It's just its Kunena Extension that doesn't work completely well in a multilingual environment, but that could depend on Kunena itself. JL Sitemap generate a static XML-file, which doesn't create unnecessary load on the web server.

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22841
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by pe7er » Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:11 am

sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:50 pm
The first response was that they wanted to get access to the back-end of my site. I had to decline it due to the kind of content being published. Then I got the following reply: "Sorry, as a Free user, we can't dig this deep for you."
I understand that you don't want to give access to someone you don't know to a site with confidential content.
However, the best and fastest way to analyze and solve an error, it is to see the issue in action.
Back-end access to the website is essential.
Good to see that they offered to help you that way, even with the free version.
Understandable that they would not spend more time to a free user that does not allow them to analyze the issue in the back-end of the website, because that costs too much time and with uncertain outcome.

When you want to give access on a live site with users + confidential content, you could consider:
  • create a new admin user that has limited back-end access (only to the extension + menu items)
  • create a copy of your website (using Akeeba Backup) and restore it at a test domain, remove the real users and confidential content.
I'm fully aware that people need to make their living, but I see the plugins that are offered for free as a "window" to show one's products. Then it becomes important that the free products works well to build confidence for people to spend money on their more advanced paid products. When there's no interest in supporting free products, then I'm not interested in spending money on the more advanced paid products either.
An extension works well under the right (tested) circumstances.
Your website or server might have some uncommon / untested settings.

I have no experience with their support. However, I can imagine that if they would have gotten back-end access, they could have solved the issue for you. If they had found a configuration issue in your site, they might have helped you for free. And if they had found some uncommon/untested server/website settings that caused a problem in their extension, they would probably have solved it in their free + paid version.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Thu Oct 22, 2020 8:28 am

I use osmap free version and have previously given Joomlashack access to the backend and ftp. They are a reputable company.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:23 am

I'm truly grateful for your kind comments. It's always good to to get new inputs and try to see things from different perspectives.

pe7er wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:11 am
When you want to give access on a live site with users + confidential content, you could consider:
  • create a new admin user that has limited back-end access (only to the extension + menu items)
  • create a copy of your website (using Akeeba Backup) and restore it at a test domain, remove the real users and confidential content.
Thanks for the suggestions. I'm still on a step learning curve and I don't feel confident to create a new admin account for back-end access to the live site. I feel more comfortable to clone the site and restore it on a test domain and remove all confidential content. I just have a few other things that need to be done before I can get it done.
Last edited by sokrates_mx5 on Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:26 am

N.B. If you give access to an app dev then you will most likely need to give ftp access as well. That being the case then restricting access in Joomla admin serves no purpose.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:30 am

Webdongle wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:26 am
N.B. If you give access to an app dev then you will most likely need to give ftp access as well. That being the case then restricting access in Joomla admin serves no purpose.
Thanks, there you got a point one has to consider.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:29 pm

They are (imho) a reputable company and I had no problem when I gave then full access to my site when they needed to fix a bug. However, if you have people's personal data then there may be legal considerations.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:30 am

Webdongle wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:29 pm
They are (imho) a reputable company and I had no problem when I gave then full access to my site when they needed to fix a bug. However, if you have people's personal data then there may be legal considerations.
I've noticed your good experience with them. Due to the content being published I'm strict and I don't allow anyone else access to the back-end.

My solution was to swap from OSMap to JL Sitmap. Google's last reading of my sitemaps generated by OSMap was on 7 October. I just urgently needed a sitemap without any faults. I added the sitemap generated by JL Sitemap at Google on 21 October, which was read with success. It was latest read by Google today (23 October) and the visitor statistic shows lots of robots searching the site. Google shows that 216 URL's have been discovered. I just have to wait a few days for the Index Coverage to be shown.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:50 am

Even though I've swapped to JL Sitmap, I'd just disabled OSMap. I got an update of OSMap today (4.2.38) that I installed. I tested to enable OSMap and now it works.

At the moment I favour JL Sitemap, since it's a static sitemap. Therefore, I've disabled OSMap again and continue to use JL Sitemap.

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22841
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by pe7er » Tue Nov 17, 2020 8:26 am

Good to hear that the OSMap update solved the issue on your site. Thanks for your follow-up!
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:30 am

sokrates_mx5 wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:50 am
...
At the moment I favour JL Sitemap, since it's a static sitemap. Therefore, I've disabled OSMap again and continue to use JL Sitemap.
That's ok if you don't change the site
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:55 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:30 am
That's ok if you don't change the site
I publish new articles quite frequently. It's easy to generate a new site map after articles has been published and set their meta data with OSMeta. A new site map is just a "click" away :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:24 pm

With osmap you don't even need to click. The sitemap is auto generated.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 9:19 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:24 pm
With osmap you don't even need to click. The sitemap is auto generated.
I know, but I spend more time on OSMeta then I do on JL Sitemap. I spend an awful amount of time to create articles, which is the most time consuming of it all. Taking a backup of the site is in fact more time consuming then updating the sitemap.

Furthermore, JL Sitemap has got the advantage that one with ease can generate links to those pages that are Public. When using OSMaps, then I still have to get in and manually make sure that web pages that are not Public won't show in the sitemap.

When I've reduced the amount of work in pipe-line, then I'm going to create sitemaps for Pocha Gallery, Jevents and AdsManager too. This should be is pretty straight forward when using static sitemaps.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39210
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by Webdongle » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:29 pm

Backing up the site is relatively quick
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

sokrates_mx5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: OSMap: Sitemaps show error messages

Post by sokrates_mx5 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 1:48 am

Webdongle wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:29 pm
Backing up the site is relatively quick
Yes, but it's even quicker to generate a sitemap :)


Post Reply

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 3.x”