Page 1 of 1

Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:40 pm
by ernienet
I'm building my first Joomla 3.0 site. A news feed that I use on most of my J1.5 and 2.5 sites (http://about.usps.com/news/latestnews.rss) is not allowing links on J3.0. The title displays as text in the module rather than a link.

I've tried this in the Beez3 and Protostar templates as well as the JoomlaShack template that I'm using on the site - I get the same thing for each, so it's not template-related.

I've worked with the settings and tested other news feeds, but cannot find anything that would cause this.

This RSS Feed also didn't return links on the site: http://www.savethepostoffice.com/rss.xml

But this one actually displays with the links: http://blog.bhmessages.com/feed/

Is there something different about the Feed Display module in Joomla 3.0 that might be making it more fussy than the one in 1.5 and 2.5?

Thank you,

Ernie

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:02 am
by TheCellarRoom
did you find an answer to this?

especially the feed items not being links?

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:36 pm
by ernienet
I never received a response, and have not resolved it. Fortunately, the client has not gone live yet, so I've set that issue aside for the moment.

But I'd still like to know if there is a known cause that I can resolve before launch.

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 11:09 am
by rumpel1
fix: create an override for the default template of the feed module with a little change in the code
1) create an override in your template by creating a folder named "mod_feed" in <joomla root>/templates/<template name>/html
2) create two files in said folder index.html (leave empty) and default.php
3) copy content of <joomla root>/modules/mod_feed/tmpl/default.php to the default.php file you just created
4) change line 92 from

Code: Select all

$uri = (!empty($feed[$i]->guid) || !is_null($feed[$i]->guid)) ? $feed[$i]->guid : $feed[$i]->uri;
to

Code: Select all

$uri = (!empty($feed[$i]->uri) || !is_null($feed[$i]->uri)) ? $feed[$i]->uri : $feed[$i]->guid;
notes:
- you could also just change the line in <joomla root>/modules/mod_feed/tmpl/default.php, but that change would be lost every time you update joomla. which may be a good thing if this bug is fixed
- to undo this fix, simply delete the "mod_feed" folder from <joomla root>/templates/<template name>/html

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 6:43 pm
by ernienet
Hi Rumpel1,

I tried it the way you described it, but I must have something wrong, because it didn't work.

So I changed the file directly and it DID work - the USPS news feed now displays as it should, and the links are live and are clickable.

Actually, what I did was comment out line 93 and added your revision to line 94, but that broke the PHP, so I simply added your line below the original line 93 - seems that they can both co-exist.

I'll go back and see what I might have done wrong with the override.

Thank you for the help, and I hope that the Joomla Team makes this change in the next update.

Ernie

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Tue May 28, 2013 12:17 pm
by TheCellarRoom
thanks rumpel1 this worked for me.

But i too broke my site originally, this was due to deleting one of the closing parentheses. Maybe this happened to you?

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:50 pm
by adc124
Hi guys,

Has anyone noticed that this core module is also outputting a duplicate opening <ul> tag?

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 4:28 pm
by gaidin6
Greetings,

I have tried this with Joomla 3.1 but it is not working. I cannot see what I might have done wrong. Note, I am doing this in the original file. Here is the code snippet from my file:

Code: Select all

<?php
	// $uri = (!empty($feed[$i]->guid) || !is_null($feed[$i]->guid)) ? $feed[$i]->guid : $feed[$i]->uri;
	$uri = (!empty($feed[$i]->uri) || !is_null($feed[$i]->uri)) ? $feed[$i]->uri : $feed[$i]->guid;
				
	$uri = substr($uri, 0, 4) != 'http' ? $params->get('rsslink') : $uri;
	$text = !empty($feed[$i]->content) ||  !is_null($feed[$i]->content) ? $feed[$i]->content : $feed[$i]->description;

?>
Thanks in advance,
Tracey

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:33 am
by ChrisEdwards
I just installed v3.1.5 and I am having similar problems with the feed display module.

Here is the message I get from this rss feed: http://www.islamophobia-watch.com/islam ... ch/rss.xml

Code: Select all

XMLReader::open(http://www.islamophobia-watch.com/islamophobia-watch/rss.xml) [xmlreader.open]: failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/user name/public_html/libraries/joomla/feed/factory.php on line 44
Any suggestions appreciated.

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:50 pm
by heavymark
Rumpel1 override worked for me. And adc124 yes there is a non closed ul tag in that mod_feed core default.php which is why the layout may appear broken for you. You'll have to add another closing ul tag. Just one of countless Joomla bugs.

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 6:09 am
by infograf768

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 6:50 pm
by modernmagic
infograf768 wrote:Issue patched for 3.2.1

See http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... 10&start=0
I am still having this issue in j3.3.0

Please help me understand what I can do to fix this? Do I install the mod_feed.diff file from joomlacode?

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:13 pm
by mcsp00
Question: this issue seems to be unfixed in regards to using a feed in a module. I need to create a module to pull an RSS2 feed from a calendar and display on a website as "Upcoming Events". It pulls the events, but does not allow the links to information about each event to display. Using the latest 3.3.4 on this. Any ideas?

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:15 pm
by rowdyred94
Bump. This problem occurs for me after updating a J!2.5 site to 3.3.6. You can see the problem at the bottom of the page here. The links were generated properly immediately after the update, and within a few hours were missing.

Considering the problems Joomla has had with feed displays and caching throughout the 2.x series, I checked into that. Neither clearing nor disabling cache had any effect.

Update: Here's an article discussing the issue, including the missing UL tag that has been fixed. Here's another forum discussion on the subject.

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 6:59 pm
by rowdyred94
Bump again. I ended up removing the feed from the site I linked above, but I have another site with the same problem. It's at the bottom of the page here. Anyone have new information to share? I attempted the override suggested by rumpel1, but that particular fix is already in place in J!3.3.6.

Re: Feed Display Module (Core) Not Allowing Links

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:57 pm
by dmccreary
I had the same issue even on a Joomla 3.4.1 site, but in my case just with a feed from google's blog spot.

I solved it by purchasing and installing Ultimate Feed Display module. It handles title links from blog spot OK. nice code, inexpensive.