I am sad about Kunena

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

I am sad about Kunena

Post by sozzled » Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:37 pm

I'm a pretty upbeat kind of guy and I've been a happy and (I hope) helpful contributor to the Kunena project since I began my involvement with it in 2009. Kunena (actually it was its predecessor, Fireboard) was one of the main reasons that I adopted Joomla. The original project had some wonderful guys and I had the immense privilege of meeting them and becoming friends with them. I speak here of Oliver Ratzesberger, Ron Severdia (a former member of the PLT), and Matias Griese.

The original concept behind Kunena was to build a community-driven, true open-source forum product for Joomla. The overarching development philosophy was to develop the software in an harmonious manner (even if, at times, the team may have differing opinions) in a way that showed mutual respect for one another. It has been somewhat unfortunate that, over the past couple of years, as the original members of the development team drifted to other pursuits, that the current development team has not upheld the core philosophy of mutual respect and understanding.

I accept that my views have not always been the easiest for others to accept. We're all individuals after all, aren't we? But, despite those differences, I think that most of us would agree that we should be tolerant and respectful of other people's different opinions.