Looking for a book on Joomla development

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
david0058
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Looking for a book on Joomla development

Post by david0058 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:30 am

Hi,

I've been struggling to get to grips with how to develop in Joomla for the last year or so, and I've got to the point where I've written a few plugins and components now, but without always understanding whether what I'm doing is the right way, or if it "just works".

For example after a couple of months of dissecting source code and trying out different things I understand how the MVC pattern works, and how to link a controller to views and use models to get the data for display but I don't know whether all of the functions I override are necessary or even if they're not 100% correct. I just code it, test it to death and then call it done !

I've read lots of tutorials online, and they've invariably been well-meaning and written by very knowledgeable developers, but they often (as all our documentation does) leave things out on the assumption that the reader knows what's meant, or include source code snippets that require something else to have been done before being called. This is a great learning experience, but highly frustrating.

Can anyone point me to a good book on developing 2.5/3.x modules, plugins, components, templates etc. that explains it all ? I've had a look on Amazon but TBH the only book reviews I'd trust 100% are from developers who've actually used them :)

Thanks,

David

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Looking for a book on Joomla development