Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
BobN_82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:23 pm

Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by BobN_82 » Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:44 pm

I'm looking to add Fabrik 3.8.1 to replace much of my custom php/MySQL code for table searches on my website http://www.friendsofsilverbrook.org/sit ... ave-search. So far in testing it's looking great.

However, when I try to use Fabrik's List Advanced Search, the close window icon (remove/cancel/delete/etc.) does not show up on pages opened under Joomlashack's js_alasse 2.1.4 template.

Image

Under the template Prostar, the cancel icon shows fine.
Image

On the Fabrik support forums, there is a reference to this script that would remap the delete icons to remove.

https://github.com/Fabrik/Fabrik-Joomla ... eric_icons

This script doesn't seem to fix the issue.

Any help is appreciated.

gws
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Kent / Sussex / Surrey border UK
Contact:

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by gws » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:16 am

What version of joomla are you using?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24628
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:06 pm

It's a character in the Icomoon font. Do you have that font loaded?
Is your template Bootstrap 2 driven?

Can you link to a page with it and your template?

Use the "Inspect Element" function in your browser.

BobN_82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by BobN_82 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 1:47 pm

GWS: I'm using Joomla 3.8.6.
Berg: JS_ALASSE uses the Wright framework. I did not install any additional fonts or icons.

Here is the div that contains the "Advanced search" bar.

Code: Select all

<div class="modal-header">
	<h3 class="handlelabel draggable" data-role="title">Advanced search</h3>
	<a class="expand" href="#" data-role="expand">
		<span class="icon-full-screen icon-expand"></span>
	</a>
	<a href="#" class="closeFabWin" data-role="close">
		<span class="icon-cancel icon-remove-sign"></span>
	</a>
</div>

BobN_82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by BobN_82 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 1:50 pm

Here is a link to the template: https://www.joomlashack.com/joomla-templates/alasse/

I've used this template for several years I do not want to change the template over this issue if possible.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24628
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Apr 07, 2018 2:30 pm

It's due to the template is loading version 3 of Bootstrap instead of the 2.3 that Joomla expects.

It's called only "close" now instead of "icon-cancel".

You have to override the Fabric layout in your template and adjust the class names to the new Bootstrap version.

https://getbootstrap.com/docs/3.3/css/# ... sses-close

Did not get much out of the demo site, as it does not have Fabric installed.

BobN_82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by BobN_82 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:38 pm

Berg,
It seems like this would be a point of incompatibility that Fabrik would want to code around going forward.

Thank you for your fast reply.
--Bob.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24628
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:05 pm

Fabrik will update when Joomla 4.0 is released. Joomla 4 will be shipped with Bootstrap 4, so you will never see Bootstrap 3 in joomla.

The source of the problem is that the Bootstrap project does not have any back wards compatibility.

BobN_82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by BobN_82 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:29 pm

PYB,
In talking with my users last night, they want to go ahead with the current version of Fabrik with the current version of Alasse if I can make it work. I'll have to research if I can get a non-modal page for a search. Changing templates for the website would be too painful at this time. Other than this hiccup, Fabrik seems like it will meet my requirements.

Thanks again!
--Bob.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24628
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:21 pm

Make an override of the Fabrik Layout in your template.

Have you used the forum at Fabrikar.com?

BobN_82
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: Using Fabrik Advanced Search with JS Alasse template

Post by BobN_82 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:34 pm

PYB,
Given that Joomla and Fabrik are going to the same version of Bootstrap in their next versions, and Joomshack is moving its templates to CSS Grid https://www.joomlashack.com/blog/joomla-news/css-grid/, and I have competing projects, it doesn't make sense for me to put too much time into shoehorning Fabric in Alasse.

Thank you for all the help. I certainly learned a lot.

--Bob.


Post Reply

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 3.x”