Embed CodeIgniter application as component

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
AustinGrey
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Embed CodeIgniter application as component

Post by AustinGrey » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:45 pm

Hi everyone,

The situation: How to get a codeigniter application working as a component in Joomla?

I'm new to Joomla development, and just barely learning how to make a functioning Joomla site. I'm an intern at an educational institution and what they've had me and all the other interns before is create new CodeIgniter applications - extending the existing website which was and is purely CodeIgniter. However more and more of the users at the institute are requesting little changes to static pages and the navigation on the website, which makes sense, but is bogging down my manager. So he asked me to either build a CMS or find one that we can switch all our development over to. Joomla seems to fit, we only need to render the current applications to the content section and we can build new ones in Joomla