Jcomments pagination in tree view

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
cosjla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Jcomments pagination in tree view

Post by cosjla » Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:24 am

Jcomments is quite popular so I know many of you have tried it. In jcomments "flat view", pagination works great. The problem with the flat view is that, there are no "reply" buttons. In the "tree view" however, there are reply buttons but no pagination. The problem here is that, jcomments loads all the comments at once which severely affects the page load speed.

Please is there a way to get pagination to work in "tree view"? If no, is there a way to at least lazy load the comments? In other words, it would be great to have users click on "load more comments" to load additional comments instead of all comments at once.

Also, in case above doesn't work, is there a way to get the reply buttons to work in "flat view"?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much in advance.

cosjla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Jcomments pagination in tree view

Post by cosjla » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:59 pm

I have been doing a lot of googling but still no luck. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much.

annahersh
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by annahersh » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:30 pm

The nature of the "tree" view is not conducive to pagination since replies are appended to parent comments. If paging is applied, it could become confusing.