Notification of high CPU load Topic is solved

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
sergrus
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Notification of high CPU load

Post by sergrus » Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:01 pm

On the website there are often peak times. I would like to display a message to users in case of heavy load to visit the site at another time. Seen for a long time like on another website. Advise extension with similar functionality.
Last edited by toivo on Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 3.x Administration

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Notification of high CPU load

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:32 pm

I do not know of any J! extension that would (a) be able to determine the CPU utilisation at any given time and (b) based on some arbitrary trigger, generate a message like "This website is currently under heavy load".

But, even if such an extension existed, it would be bad advertising for your website if visitors saw a message like that.

In my opinion, I think the best approach would be to address the cause(s) of the website's under-performance. If you want to keep your website visitors engaged, fix the performance problems; don't tell your visitors that your website has problems. If the main business of your website is to tell your visitors about your problems then you will soon lose your business. Of course, that's just my opinion.

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by AMurray » Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:09 pm

I'd agree with @sozzled, your site needs to be as optimised as much as possible to account for all conditions.