replacement for ‘Freestyle FAQ’ extension??

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Thomsterdam
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

replacement for ‘Freestyle FAQ’ extension??

Post by Thomsterdam » Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:17 pm

Hi there,
We have been using the Freestyle FAQ for years, but we haven't seen any development over the past few years. I cannot find any updates and it is not listed in the Joomla Extension Directory anymore. So I don't suppose we can expect any support from the original developers.

The problem of course is: we have been using it till now (Joomla 3.9.14 PHP 7.1) and have been warned on their Facebook page not to upgrade our site beyond PHP 7.1. So we need a replacement, as we are running this extension with hundreds of FAQ Questions.

Does anyone have a recommendation for another FAQ extension? And most important of all: Is there an easy way to convert the FAQs (from Freestyle FAQ) to a new FAQ extension?? If we had a few dozens of questions we could convert them manually, but with hundreds (over 1100) FAQs this is not an option.

Anyone?

Thom
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day;
teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: replacement for ‘Freestyle FAQ’ extension??

Post by waarnemer » Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:17 pm

If it is just like "articles" with some easy search, why not just use the core com_content articles.

Write question in title and/or introtext (before the readmore) answer below the readmore.
Use of TAGS, and advances search for searchability and and multicategorisation maybe?

Thomsterdam
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern