want a user friendly way to insert Media into an Article

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
profgerdes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

want a user friendly way to insert Media into an Article

Post by profgerdes » Thu Sep 23, 2021 1:13 am

I am looking for a clean, easy user interface to upload and automatically insert media into an article, with the option to either link or show the content.
I think ideally I would have a simple textbox where I can select a file from my computer, a set of checkboxes to indicate either show, link, or both. Clicking submit would upload the file, save it in Joomla, then either display the media in a new article, or insert a link to the media. I don't want the user to have to upload the media, then navigate to it in the Joomla directory when they already specified what they wanted.

The purpose is to allow non-technical, casual users to submit content including PDF and Images easily. Having to interact with a plugin would be challenging. I did find plugins for embedding a PDF, but the complexity of having authors trying to use this from the front end makes them not useful for my application.

Anyone have a solution for this?

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: want a user friendly way to insert Media into an Article

Post by sozzled » Thu Sep 23, 2021 2:37 am

That's a "tricky" problem: submit something, display it nor not (but allow others to download it) ...