problem with akeeba backup on shared windows host using iis

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
dlondon
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

problem with akeeba backup on shared windows host using iis

Post by dlondon » Sun Jul 27, 2014 1:23 pm

Hi,

I'm working on a joomla site in IIS 8 on Windows Server 2012 Standard. The host is shared with others who have their own accounts and spaces on the server

PHP version is 5.4

I have installed akeeba backup which is written in php but produces the following error when it attempts to back up the files:

Warnings
Unreadable directory E:\HostingSpaces\myaccount\test.myaccount.org.au\wwwroot

(I've changed my account name in the message to a generic "myaccount" for this posting)

I installed IIS on my Windows 7 machine at home and installed PHP. MySQL and Joomla. I then installed akeeba backup via joomla and it backed up with no problems

I contacted akeeba support after rummaging through their support documents and tickets. I was advised that it might be one of 2 things:

- lack of permissions. A quick test was done by giving the Everyone group Full permission on wwwroot and below
- need to assign a value to the php directive "open_basedir" which is not set by the systemwide php.ini
I was able to set this in my local "user_ini.filename" which is called ".user.ini".
I tried
open_basedir = "E:\HostingSpaces\myaccount\test.myaccount.org.au\wwwroot"
and
open_basedir = "E:\HostingSpaces\myaccount\test.myaccount.org.au\wwwroot\"

For both of the above there was no change - still got the same error