Moving from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3 FTPing files to site.

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
JimLouis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:33 pm

Moving from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3 FTPing files to site.

Postby JimLouis » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:04 pm

So I have not been able to use the update feature on Joomla for the core for one site ever and two sites just trying to go from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3. (Yes, I know that Joomla does not recommend or suppor this, but sometimes Joomla doesn't work right on IIS. and I have to get my website secure from hackers.)
(Just remember I had already uploaded all the files using the Joomla Update feature)
When I put debug to Maximum I get these errors. (public $error_reporting = 'maximum';)

Code: Select all

PHP Notice:  Constant JROUTER_MODE_RAW already defined in ****/libraries/cms/router/router.php on line 17
PHP Notice:  Constant JROUTER_MODE_SEF already defined in ****/libraries/cms/router/router.php on line 24
PHP Notice:  Constant _QQ_ already defined in ****/libraries/src/Language/Language.php on line 18


The fix I found on Joomla forums is: Create a folder on your local computer, download the whole libraries folder from the website.
In the mean time download the full install package for 3.8.3 and unzip it.
When the download from your server is complete go into your libraries folder and delete all folders & files in side of it.
Then upload from your full 3.8.3 package all the folders & files in the libraries folder.

This removed these errors however I use Akeebabckup and got an error on the quickIcons folder

Code: Select all

Fatal error: Class 'FOF30\Container\Container' not found in ****\plugins\quickicon\akeebabackup\akeebabackup.php on line 225


I used this solution.
https://www.akeebabackup.com/support/akeeba-backup-3x/Ticket/26444-just-updated-my-akeeba-fatal-error-class-fof30-container-container.html

I renamed the plugins/quickicon/akeebabackup And was able to get into the back side.

I downloaded the full plugin from the akeebabackup website and unziped it. I then went to Extensions Manage Install Selected Upload Package File and Dropped into box on the screen from pkg_akeeba-5.6.3-core


libfof30.zip
Then
plg_quickicon_akeebabackup.zip

And it installed and worked.

I then went to the Extensions Manage Database and Fixed the database errors. Site is working.

Note: This is what worked for me in IIS I do not know if it will work for you.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33958
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Moving from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3 FTPing files to site.

Postby Webdongle » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:37 pm

"(Just remember I had already uploaded all the files using the Joomla Update feature) "
"I then went to the Extensions Manage Database and Fixed the database errors. Site is working. "

Chances are that you have broke your site and have caused even bigger problems that are yet to surface.

JimLouis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Moving from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3 FTPing files to site.

Postby JimLouis » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:48 pm

Well considering the one site has been updated from 2.5 (the original build) to 3.8.3 manually every single time because the automatic upgrades have never worked for it, you could be right. I have had to manually run SQL commands in phpmyadmin multiple different times directly to the database to get this one site to work. It is an IIS issue somewhere with the setup. I have worked 20+ hours with my server provider on this issue without full resolution. I can update any extension automatically, but core upgrades never work.

As I noted this worked for me and I am hoping to help the next person so they don't have to spend two hours tracking down the 500 internal server error and another hour searching the internet to implement a fix for it.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33958
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Moving from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3 FTPing files to site.

Postby Webdongle » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:45 pm

JimLouis wrote:...
As I noted this worked for me and I am hoping to help the next person so they don't have to spend two hours tracking down the 500 internal server error and another hour searching the internet to implement a fix for it.

Catch 22 users who can manually run the sql updates are capable of working that out themselves. It can be done manually by often not very successfully. The time it has taken you fix it like a patchwork quilt ... you could have rebuilt the site 2 or 3 times. Perhaps consider installing a fresh Joomla without sample data and using https://extensions.joomla.org/extension/j2xml/ to transfer the data.


Return to “Joomla! 3.x on IIS webserver”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests