Warning when setting Force HTTPS

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
RenniePet
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:22 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Postby RenniePet » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:14 am

When I try to set the Force HTTPS option using the admin facility I get the following warning message:

Snap1.png

But if I edit the configuration.php file and set $force_ssl to '2' then it works.

I'm guessing this has something to do with running under IIS and/or running on an Azure VM.

Any suggestions as to how to avoid this problem, or diagnose it further?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18598
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Postby leolam » Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:46 am

You only get the warning if you have no SSL certificate installed or the OpenSSL extension is missing on the server

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

RenniePet
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:22 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Postby RenniePet » Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:37 am

@Leo, thanks for your reply.

I do have an SSL certificate installed, from the Let's Encrypt organization.

And after I turn on Force SSL manually by editing the configuration.php the site is working using HTTPS.

You mention an "OpenSSL extension" - is that a PHP or Joomla extension? I do have the PHP OpenSSL extension installed - and I don't think the website would work with HTTPS without it.

If you're interested, I've blogged about my experiences in installing an SSL certificate for a Joomla website running on IIS:
https://renniestechblog.com/information ... ertificate

Rennie

User avatar
ozneilau
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:05 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Postby ozneilau » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:03 am

RenniePet wrote:If you're interested, I've blogged about my experiences in installing an SSL certificate for a Joomla website running on IIS:
https://renniestechblog.com/information ... ertificate
Thanks Rennie, this is useful.


Return to “Joomla! 3.x on IIS webserver”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests