Page 1 of 1

Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Posted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:14 am
by RenniePet
When I try to set the Force HTTPS option using the admin facility I get the following warning message:
Snap1.png
But if I edit the configuration.php file and set $force_ssl to '2' then it works.

I'm guessing this has something to do with running under IIS and/or running on an Azure VM.

Any suggestions as to how to avoid this problem, or diagnose it further?

Re: Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:46 am
by leolam
You only get the warning if you have no SSL certificate installed or the OpenSSL extension is missing on the server

Leo 8)

Re: Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:37 am
by RenniePet
@Leo, thanks for your reply.

I do have an SSL certificate installed, from the Let's Encrypt organization.

And after I turn on Force SSL manually by editing the configuration.php the site is working using HTTPS.

You mention an "OpenSSL extension" - is that a PHP or Joomla extension? I do have the PHP OpenSSL extension installed - and I don't think the website would work with HTTPS without it.

If you're interested, I've blogged about my experiences in installing an SSL certificate for a Joomla website running on IIS:
https://renniestechblog.com/information ... ertificate

Rennie

Re: Warning when setting Force HTTPS

Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:03 am
by ozneilau
RenniePet wrote:If you're interested, I've blogged about my experiences in installing an SSL certificate for a Joomla website running on IIS:
https://renniestechblog.com/information ... ertificate
Thanks Rennie, this is useful.