Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:25 pm

Hello - I have searched in vain for a good answer to this issue - and it's driving me nuts!

I need to upgrade my current Joomla version to 3.8.3 - I would also like PHP 7.0 - but I'll settle for 5.6 (Installing either of which breaks the site)

I was at 3.6.5 and was finally able to get it upgraded to 3.7.0 after I read a post that mentioned that even though you get the timeout, it might work in another browser - and it did. So, now I'm at 3.7.0 with PHP 5.4.24

So - when I attempt an update - even an incremental upgrade such as from 3.7 to 3.7.1 - the green bar goes across the screen, gets to 100% and hangs for a very long time. Then I get an error saying "Ajax Error: Timeout" and the site then will show an HTTP 500 error if I try to navigate to it. (the opening a new browser thing only worked from 3.6.5 to 3.7)

This is a production site on an Enterprise in-house server. As such, I have copied the server to a Virtual Machine to attempt to come up with a solution that I can use on the production site.

Any help is appreciated - here is the FPA readout:

Last PHP Error(s) Reported :: Forum Post Assistant (v1.3.9) : 18th January 2018 wrote:bln1uaieeca M Asiia 0infCer -3faeNfiu2p :ipnoei:cTavip::4c dr oSan- 1rmnt vbi:Hl ofdetrR o[2ianSci1 1in lCrt_p\ea6 s:kiltIa5_o)s/.:2nrossasfb/NdsicsueiTve2e cn ]m\\oasv Mf_H\ianwyAarlbtrepN8misahglilwborlr.sl \tl0:-_rinoHr i0eitce_ e 2bF0t:4-eto1sYnaaestU\erstneetaect_otsf_ot0ileih0\oke:r5crimFssNoit2setpn ive sNt1ve elPaw_:rPua e\t:A8upNipo:ln tp:seo[
Forum Post Assistant (v1.3.9) : 18th January 2018 wrote:
Basic Environment :: wrote:Joomla! Instance :: Joomla! 3.7.0-Stable (Amani) 25-April-2017
Joomla! Platform :: Joomla Platform 13.1.0-Stable (Curiosity) 24-Apr-2013
Joomla! Configured :: Yes | Writable (666) | Owner: --protected-- . (uid: /gid: ) | Group: --protected-- (gid: ) | Valid For: 3.7
Configuration Options :: Offline: 0 | SEF: 1 | SEF Suffix: 1 | SEF ReWrite: 0 | .htaccess/web.config: Yes | GZip: 0 | Cache: 0 | CacheTime: 15 | CacheHandler: file | CachePlatformPrefix: 0 | FTP Layer: 0 | Proxy: 0 | LiveSite: | Session lifetime: 30 | Session handler: database | Shared sessions: N/A | SSL: 0 | FrontEdit: 1 | Error Reporting: default | Site Debug: 0 | Language Debug: 0 | Default Access: 1 | Unicode Slugs: 0 | dbConnection Type: mysqli | Database Credentials Present: Yes

Host Configuration :: OS: Windows NT | OS Version: 6.2 | Technology: i586 | Web Server: Microsoft-IIS/8.0 | Encoding: gzip, deflate | Doc Root: --protected-- | System TMP Writable: No | Free Disk Space : 61.93 GiB |

PHP Configuration :: Version: 5.4.24 | PHP API: cgi-fcgi | Session Path Writable: Yes | Display Errors: | Error Reporting: 22527 | Log Errors To: C:\websites\phptemp\PHP54_errors.log | Last Known Error: 18th January 2018 15:08:24. | Register Globals: | Magic Quotes: | Safe Mode: | Open Base: | Uploads: 1 | Max. Upload Size: 2G | Max. POST Size: 2G | Max. Input Time: 84600 | Max. Execution Time: 1200 | Memory Limit: 512M

MySQL Configuration :: Version: 5.6.22-log (Client:mysqlnd 5.0.10 - 20111026 - $Id: 2d8f599f49e5e8d2f5ba7112b5c444b3e2e48cdf $) | Host: --protected-- (--protected--) | Collation: utf8_general_ci (Character Set: utf8) | Database Size: 292.46 MiB | #of Tables: 328
Detailed Environment :: wrote:PHP Extensions :: Core (5.4.24) | bcmath () | calendar () | ctype () | date (5.4.24) | ereg () | filter (0.11.0) | ftp () | hash (1.0) | iconv () | json (1.2.1) | mcrypt () | SPL (0.2) | odbc (1.0) | pcre () | Reflection ($Id: 803b12b031413f268441ec8c2709628deb97a3b3 $) | session () | standard (5.4.24) | mysqlnd (mysqlnd 5.0.10 - 20111026 - $Id: 2d8f599f49e5e8d2f5ba7112b5c444b3e2e48cdf $) | tokenizer (0.1) | zip (1.11.0) | zlib (2.0) | libxml () | dom (20031129) | PDO (1.0.4dev) | openssl () | SimpleXML (0.1) | wddx () | xml () | xmlreader (0.1) | xmlwriter (0.1) | cgi-fcgi () | mysql (1.0) | mysqli (0.1) | mbstring () | gd () | gettext () | curl () | exif (1.4 $Id$) | xmlrpc (0.51) | Phar (2.0.1) | soap () | pdo_mysql (1.0.2) | pdo_sqlite (1.0.1) | imap () | tidy (2.0) | fileinfo (1.0.5) | wincache (1.3.4.0) | mhash () | Zend Engine (2.4.0) |
Potential Missing Extensions :: suhosin |

Switch User Environment (Experimental) :: PHP CGI: Yes | Server SU: No | PHP SU: Yes | Custom SU (LiteSpeed/Cloud/Grid): Yes
Potential Ownership Issues: No
Folder Permissions :: wrote:Core Folders :: --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (---) |

Elevated Permissions (First 10) :: --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) | --protected-- (777) |
Database Information :: wrote:Database statistics :: Uptime: 682514 | Threads: 1 | Questions: 10749 | Slow queries: 0 | Opens: 518 | Flush tables: 1 | Open tables: 398 | Queries per second avg: 0.015 |
Extensions Discovered :: wrote:Strict Information Privacy was selected. Nothing to display.
Templates Discovered :: wrote:Strict Information Privacy Nothing to display.
[/size]
[/quote]

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3561
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby AMurray » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:42 pm

Your site has elevated file permissions (777) this should be 755 for starters (not connected with the problem, just pointing this out as one potential other problem). Files within the folders should be CHMOD 644 (or Windows equivalent - maybe the FPA report is only reporting what the Windows server IIS settings are - I'm used to working with Linux / Apache, so the settings your FPA shows might be right)

As identified, PHP version is out of date. Definitely use 5.6 or 7.x .

It seems there's a whole lot missing from the FPA report (concerning the installed extensions & templates) - including those with the core system plus any third-party). Why did you select "strict privacy information" for Templates and Extensions? Without the full report, the issue may not be diagnosed. Before upgrading did you ensure all extensions are up to date, compatible with 3.8.x?

Code: Select all

 System TMP Writable: No
I believe this should be set to YES

Code: Select all

Joomla! Configured :: Yes | Writable (666)
If this is referring to the configuration file, it should be 444 not 666.

Suggest looking at the server logs for details of "Error 500". As for timeout issues, all the relevant PHP settings are fine, is there anything else on the server otherwise causing an unusual load on it?

Joomla 3.5 and above runs fine (or should do) on PHP 7 and 5.6, given the minimum PHP is 5.3.10.

You say PHP 5.6 or 7.x breaks the site, try turning on PHP error reporting for the specific errors. Post back to this forum any detail you get. Also suggest turning on debug mode, to find any clues to the issues.
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:32 pm

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, this site is for a Government installation, and I am not going to post sensitive information on the internet about it. The "Strict Privacy" option was there, so I selected it.

I am also suspecting that the modules are not updated but I am having issues with RocketTheme updater, and cannot login to even look at much less do updates on their modules. This is frustrating to say the least.

Sorry if I have not posted enough information, but I don't want to jeopardize my client's security. If it's possible to get you the info you need to help me with this - we can see what can be done.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4871
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby sozzled » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:58 pm

I have one question in relation to the original issue:
eblumberg wrote:I need to upgrade my current [website to] Joomla version to 3.8.3 ... [but] when I attempt an update ... the green bar goes across the screen, gets to 100% and hangs for a very long time. Then I get an error saying "Ajax Error: Timeout" ...
That's our starting position and I have only one question at this time following on from it.

On your PC/locally-hosted/"virtual machine" when you try to update from J! 3.7.0 to J! 3.8.3 what happens? That's really all that I'm interested in knowing at this time but I will have more questions to ask later.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:21 pm

Thank you for your question - I appreciate getting right to the heart of the matter.

What happens is that it hangs seemingly forever, and if you wait long enough it will come back and give you an "Ajax Error: Timeout" message.

THEN - more to the point - if you close the browser, and open a new browser and try to navigate to the site - you get nowhere - the site doesn't come up at all - just spins.
Last edited by eblumberg on Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:34 pm

AMurray wrote:You say PHP 5.6 or 7.x breaks the site, try turning on PHP error reporting for the specific errors. Post back to this forum any detail you get. Also suggest turning on debug mode, to find any clues to the issues.


I will do that - and post back specifics on my next test. :D

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4871
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby sozzled » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:36 pm

Thank you for your reply. So, if I understand you correctly, you want to solve a problem on your virtual machine/PC-hosted environment. You are not interested, at this stage, in whether this solution will apply to the final/production website, correct?

There are different hosting environments between the production site and your virtual machine site—different setups involving different hardware, webserver software, database software and PHP—correct? I'm just trying to understand the specific nature of your request at this time.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:42 pm

sozzled wrote:Thank you for your reply. So, if I understand you correctly, you want to solve a problem on your virtual machine/PC-hosted environment. You are not interested, at this stage, in whether this solution will apply to the final/production website, correct?


No, I am interested in finding a solution for the main production site. This site is an exact duplicate (VM copy) of the production site. right down to the same IP address - it is isolated from the network, so there is no IP conflict, but everything about this server is an exact duplicate of the original. Therefore whatever solutions I resolve, I will apply to the production server as a fix.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you in advance.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18723
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby leolam » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:08 pm

eblumberg wrote:Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, this site is for a Government installation, and I am not going to post sensitive information on the internet about it.
Hire a professional if you cannot share data. We cannot "guess" here on the forums

I am having issues with RocketTheme updater, and cannot login to even look at much less do updates on their modules.
You need a valid license to update their (commercial) stuff. Can you update any other extensions?

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:21 pm

leolam wrote:[]You need a valid license to update their (commercial) stuff. Can you update any other extensions?
Leo 8)


I have a valid license - and yes I can update other items. Someone else suggested uninstalling their Updater plugins, and after I did - I was able to SEE the Rok items, and update each one at a time. So that is resolved. ;D

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4871
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby sozzled » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:33 pm

I agree with Leo about "guessing" on the forums. Anyway, if the test environment is exactly the same as the production environment, and the file permissions are set the way they are, and

Code: Select all

System TMP Writable: No
... and you can't or won't provide us with a list of components, modules, plugins and templates used on your site, then I don't think we can assist you, sorry.

Looks like you may need the assistance of a professional developer who understands the vagaries of IIS-hosted website hosting. I wish you all the best; I'm out of ideas on this matter, myself.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:42 pm

sozzled wrote:I agree with Leo about "guessing" on the forums. Anyway, if the test environment is exactly the same as the production environment, and the file permissions are set the way they are, and

Code: Select all

System TMP Writable: No
... and you can't or won't provide us with a list of components, modules, plugins and templates used on your site, then I don't think we can assist you, sorry.

Looks like you may need the assistance of a professional developer who understands the vagaries of IIS-hosted website hosting. I wish you all the best; I'm out of ideas on this matter, myself.


Thanks for your time. One question - why is the "Strict Information policy" button even there if you can't help me if I press that? Didn't you invent the FPA?

I'm happy to share any information you need - and if you can assure me that unchecking the "Strict Information Policy" won't share sensitive information, then I'll uncheck it.

BTW - The System TMP Writable is incorrect, it is writable, and I am not sure why that is showing incorrectly.

I wouldn't have posted if I wasn't in need of assistance.

Thank you

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18723
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby leolam » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:48 pm

I repeat with no proper data available it is impossible to help. The PHP-error that has been posted makes no sense to me at all and without further diving in the site I cannot help you. You should hire professional support since you won't get any answers for sure here by me without looking under the hood of your installation which needs to be done to track the problem.

Sorry but I cannot help you here on the forums further

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:55 pm

leolam wrote:I repeat with no proper data available it is impossible to help. The PHP-error that has been posted makes no sense to me at all and without further diving in the site I cannot help you.


OK - So I will repeat my latest question - IF you can assure me that unchecking the box that is hiding the information you need to assist me - will NOT share sensitive information - I will uncheck it, and re-post it. I don't think I'm being overly paranoid, just trying to be cautious. The option was there, so I selected it - now you cannot help me.

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:22 pm

thank you for your time
Last edited by eblumberg on Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

eblumberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Timeout and HTTP500 Errors after Upgrade

Postby eblumberg » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:24 pm

:'(


Return to “Joomla! 3.x on IIS webserver”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests