Backend wide open Topic is solved

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
dottedhippo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Backend wide open

Post by dottedhippo » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:10 pm

After installing a backup with akeeba, all seemed to work fine. But I got the scare of my life when I discovered the backend was open without a password! Also, no users were shown to be logged in, hower the backend was wide open! What is happening here???
Last edited by toivo on Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Backend wide open

Post by toivo » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:17 pm

That sounds unusual. Which version of Joomla and Akeeba Backup?

Which method did you use to restore? Did you remove the old file system first?
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

dottedhippo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by dottedhippo » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:25 pm

I used kickstart 5.4.2. It is the newest version of Joomla (I can't read off the version for I have no access to the back end in the broken version I use now).

I followed the defaults except for the database used.

It was a clean install, with only some basic files from my hosting provider, and the kickstart and archive files.

But the strange thing is: this should NEVER be possible, right?

dottedhippo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by dottedhippo » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:46 pm

I am not kidding!!

dottedhippo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by dottedhippo » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:12 pm

Could it be a hack attack?

leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by leolam » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:52 am