Frontend site won't load - 404 error message

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
last_frontier
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Frontend site won't load - 404 error message

Post by last_frontier » Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:48 am

I've been searching and can't figure out why I keep getting "404 - Article not found" when I try to view my site. I have a tiny home business on a tight budget. I make soaps and am trying to build the site myself to start wholesaling my products. I used Joomla years ago for another home business when Joomla was just getting started. It was simpler then. Now I can't figure it out. I think the problem happened yesterday when I logged into the backend and installed the suggested updates. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you! :)

Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Frontend site won't load - 404 error message

Post by Webdongle » Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:25 am

What version did you update from? Or was it an extension that you updated?
viewtopic.php?f=714&t=793531
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

last_frontier
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by last_frontier » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:48 am

Thank you. I installed Joomla four months ago, installed a template from Joomlashack, and then recently installed the JCE Editor, Akeeba Backup, and VirtueMart. I check for and install updates regularly -- whatever the admin section says I need to update.