HELP! Joomla backend has only header/footer after viewer access changes!

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
lastevns
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

HELP! Joomla backend has only header/footer after viewer access changes!

Post by lastevns » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:40 pm

Hey all, I'm really hoping someone can offer a fix quick for a sudden and perplexing problem.

When I went to bed last night, the back end of Joomla was working fine. Today, I wake up and go to the back end and everything under the top color bar is gone on ALL pages of the back end and in EVERY browser I try. Here's what the pages look like now:
backend_mostly_gone.png
I was working on Access Viewing Groups (reorganizing them) when I last had a working back end (that sounds so wrong... but I mean Joomla back end). Did that reorg cause this?

I can reinstall older saved files but I'd prefer to reinstall only what I must as I've made some serious content updates I don't want to lose.

PLEASE HELP. This is obviously a total work shutdown. THANK YOU!

PS -- I've learned this DID HAPPEN as a result of me ignorantly messing with the Viewing Access Levels and User Groups. I am now using that back end to the users area (administrator/index.php?option=com_users&view=users) and I am able to access everything under that panel. I obviously need to go back to the original user group and Viewing Access Levels I had before but I can't exactly recall what they were. Also, I can't access the Save & Close option so any changes I do make can't be saved. If anyone knows how to help, please pass this along. Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.