Administrator page error

Moderators: mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Post Reply
Enanapro
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:24 pm
Contact:

Administrator page error

Post by Enanapro » Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:38 pm

Hi,
I have an ecommerce website

Code: Select all

(http://sallyshoping.com
) .. built it by using joomla CMS with virtuemart extensions.
I was built this website inside a folder

Code: Select all

http://sallyshoping.com/web
) as a draft, After I finished I had taken backup by using akeeba and delete this folder (web) and move The website to the primary domain (

Code: Select all

http://sallyshoping.com
).
the website is working normally but when I'm trying to enter to the back-end the error (404) appear and the link of website is change from (

Code: Select all

http://sallyshoping.com/administrator
) TO (

Code: Select all

http://sallyshoping.com/index.php/en/administrator
), you can find the image in attached file.

Be know please , the trick is that when I'm adding new folder name (web) and extract my backup inside it, the administrator page in primary root (

Code: Select all

http://sallyshoping.com/administrator
) is working normally.

Any Idea please to fix this issue????

Thanks a lot
Omar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34749
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Administrator page error

Post by Webdongle » Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:22 am

https://docs.joomla.org/Moving_the_site ... irectories

Or set up Wamp localhost on your PC create a folder in Wamp's /www folder and install your backup.jpa to the /www/newfolder. And check things there before installing your backup.jpa to the server.

frostmakk
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:30 am
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Re: Administrator page error

Post by frostmakk » Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:47 am

Just a note on the wamp sub-folder advice.
When running complex things like a cms on wamp, you should always create a virtual host for it.
If you don't, the servers document root will always be /wamp/www and not the www/newfolder.
This can come back and bite you if your not 100% aware of it when addressing folder structures.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34749
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Administrator page error

Post by Webdongle » Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:09 pm

frostmakk wrote:...
When running complex things like a cms on wamp, you should always create a virtual host for it.
If you don't, the servers document root will always be /wamp/www and not the www/newfolder ....
By default Wamp creates localhost as a virtual host so
http://localhost/anyfolder/
http://localhost/anyfolder/another folder/
both should resolve correctly and the paths in configuration.php are
public $log_path = 'C:\\wamp64\\www\\foldername\\administrator/logs';
public $tmp_path = 'C:\\wamp64\\www\\foldername/tmp';
Notice the document root has \ and \\ (backslashes) for the doc root then / (forward slash) for the localhost server path NOT /wamp/www or www/newfolder !!!

No need for www in the url. Problems only occur if .htaccess has non www to www redirect in the .htaccess ... in which case just comment it out. Notepad++ can be used to edit .htaccess on a PC https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

frostmakk
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:30 am
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Re: Administrator page error

Post by frostmakk » Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:33 pm

Yes. No problem as long as you know how the dots are connected.
http://forum.wampserver.com/read.php?2,127757

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34749
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Administrator page error

Post by Webdongle » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:27 pm

Doesn't apply to Joomla because it sets the root dynamically to the url of it's index.php.
e.g.
When the browser is pointed at

Code: Select all

http://localhost/afolder
then Joomla uses C:\\wamp64\\www\\foldername as the document root. So clicking a menu item called Contacts would take you to

Code: Select all

http://localhost/afolder/contact
Creating a virtual host for \www\afolder would have absolutely no affect on that whatsoever nor would it alter the paths Joomla creates in the configuration.php

If it is moved to \www\x\y\z then when the browser is pointed at

Code: Select all

http://localhost/x/y/zr
then Joomla uses C:\\wamp64\\www\\x\\y\\z as the document root. Creating a virtual host for \www\x\y\z would have absolutely no affect on that whatsoever. Having a virtual host for \www\x\y\z might simplify the path notation in the configuration.php. But the catch 22 is if someone understands paths enough to create a virtual host then they know enough to simply edit the configuration.php.

But the need to create a virtual host is negated by using Akeeba because the installer (packed in the jpa file) writes the correct paths in the configuration.php. Your introduction of wamp virtual hosts (into this thread) has just caused unnecessary over complication to what is a simple process of using Akeeba to copy the site to localhost.

frostmakk
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:30 am
Location: Stavanger, Norway

Re: Administrator page error

Post by frostmakk » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:38 pm

Yes, I get the message. Stay out of your way.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34749
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Administrator page error

Post by Webdongle » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:51 pm

frostmakk wrote:Yes, I get the message. Stay out of your way.
Not a case of staying out of anyone's way. Just a matter of stating opinions.


Post Reply

Return to “Access Control List (ACL) in Joomla! 3.x”