Image and article security by category

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
marks6i
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Image and article security by category

Post by marks6i » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:28 am

What is the best way to configure Joomla so that I can define authors and moderators for each category. I have created groups for an author and moderator for each category and in the category I have defined permissions in the category which are appropriate for each of those groups. So far so good.

What I'd like is to allow front-end editing so that authors (and moderators) can upload images (embedded in their articles) which cannot trash/change images for another category. In other words, if I have an images/ directory and I have categories: cat_a, cat_b, cat_c, then the authors and moderators of cat_a can only upload to images/cat_a.
It would also be helpful if they couldn't delete/overwrite the images there (unless granted those rights).

Also, on my front-end editor, there is no place to say what category a new article belongs to. Is this because authors are not given the permission to publish (a task only moderators can do once they have reviewed the article). There should be a dropdown to select a category among categories that the logged-in author has permission to create an article in.