403 Access Denied to Admin GCL and ACL

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
daveej
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

403 Access Denied to Admin GCL and ACL

Post by daveej » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:29 pm

I have a problem that appears to have been referred to in a past solved post. I didn't get a reply post in the [Solved] item, so I'm reposting were it would belongs today.

This appears to refer to this post:
[Solved] 403 Access Denied while adding a new admin user.

Postby wtfnowagain » Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:13 pm

Here is my repost.

Postby daveej » Sun Feb 18, 2018 5:58 pm
I'm having a similar problem. I tried to change a user group to allow access the backend and enter new members. I couldn't find a solution without giving Superuser status. After testing and deciding this wasn't wise, backed off and tried to remove Superuser status. Now however I get as the only remaining Superuser:
Error
An error has occurred.
403 You are not authorised to view this resource.
when trying to change or add a User Group or Access Level.

And I can't do a restoration in Akeeba Backup. There are no admin buttons accessible in Akeeba Admin now, so I can't get to settings.

What do I do now?

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: 403 Access Denied to Admin GCL and ACL

Post by sozzled » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:37 pm

daveej wrote:I have a problem that appears to have been referred to in a past solved post.
Where might this have been? ???

By the way, what is "GCL"? I'm not familiar with the acronym.

daveej
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by daveej » Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:04 pm

[Solved] topic is here: viewtopic.php?f=708&t=830632