"Register to read more" works perfectly in blog/list but not in "Articles - Category" Module

Moderators: mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
peteward
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

"Register to read more" works perfectly in blog/list but not in "Articles - Category" Module

Post by peteward » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:14 pm

I've been using Joomla for a long time and have recently come up against a problem. Many of the sites I look after have content restricted to paid users.

I've always used Joomla's built in Viewing Access Levels to control this and it works a treat. The user clicks the article title or image or "register to read more" button, they go to a login page and then once logged in, they go to the full article text.

On a site I recently revamped - this is all working as above on the blog layout pages, however I wanted to make use of the Articles - Category module to to display a block of article intros on the home page which are articles that are restricted to members.

The template I'm using displays the module and uses the intro image (linked), the article title (linked), intro text and "Login to read more" button (linked).

Clicking the article title or the "Login to read more" button in the module takes me to a login page but logging in redirects to the user to their profile page. Clicking the image goes to a login page also, but here logging in redirects to the full article.

Thinking this may be a perculiarity of the template, I tested it on a very simple site which had a fresh install of Joomla, I get a similar problem.