Inadvertently locked myself out

Moderators: mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
tomgraham
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Inadvertently locked myself out

Post by tomgraham » Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:19 pm

I'm running the latest Joomla version (3.9.3) and was trying in the ACL to determine and rule out some user access anomolies. Somehow, without noticing it, I seem to have made the Super User user group, subservient to a user group without administrator access. (Stupid, I know, and another example why you shouldn't do maintenance work when tired - please add me to the stupid administrator list!) Of course I was shut out immediately after saving the work, and now I'm told I have no right to log in to the admin area. Can anybody give me any tips about where I should begin before I start working through everything I can find?

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Inadvertently locked myself out

Post by toivo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:26 pm

The following tutorial shows how to reset the administrator password and also how to add a new super user to the users table in the database: https://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_reco ... assword%3F

In your case resetting the password or adding a new Super User is not going to help because you changed the structure of the user groups. If you have access to phpMyAdmin from the cPanel of your host, you need to reset the structure by editing the usergroups table and make sure that the parent_id of the Super Users group is 1, pointing to Public, as shown in the attached image from the basic usergroups table.

usergroups.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator
troubleshooting smtp and other articles http://talikka.com/joomla

tomgraham