ACL Per document or category Topic is solved

Moderators: mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators, mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
aabfm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

ACL Per document or category

Post by aabfm » Mon Dec 30, 2019 8:44 pm

Hi,
I'd like to have my students to generally access my website but each class to access their own documents and (ideally) each student his/her own grades or documents.
I've tried several times to create a new User Group and then a new Category but the new User Group is not shown. When I step into permissions there are so many I don't know even where to start...
The tutorials are either outdated or too detailed and, to be honest, for the time being I could get away just by simply assign a specific Category to a specific Group.
Adding to this, all the extension or plug-ins for this matter are paid.
Can anyone either give me a hand or point me somewhere on how to do this?
I'm using the latest Joomla version.
Thanks in advance.
Spare the nature, use electronic docs!

sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: ACL Per document or category

Post by sozzled » Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:06 pm

Some general thoughts.

This question is asked a few times on the forum. Basically, the question involves how to allow individual users of a website to access content that relates, specifically, to that individual user and to no-one else.