Help with showing different content to Guest, Registered, Subscribers Topic is solved

Moderators: mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators, mandville, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
mariopg
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Help with showing different content to Guest, Registered, Subscribers

Post by mariopg » Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:17 am

Hi all, I am facing an ACL configuration that I think it is not possible or I am not able to setup properly.

I have successfully setup Guest access (all guest users are "guests" in config).

I have menu items that are like this:

A. Home, Presentation, Contact > Access to Public.
B. Lessons overview (for Guest group) > Access to Guest.
C. Welcome Kit (for Registered group) > Access to Registered.
D. Lessons complete (for Subscribers group) > Access to Subscribers that is a sub-group of Registered.

What I want to do is:

1. When a user is not registered they can see the Public content "A" and Guest "B".
2. Anyone except Subscribers can see Lessons (for Guest group) "B".
3. When a user register they get a "welcome kit", so a Registered user should see: "A", "B", "C", but not "D"
4. When a user subscribe they should see content: "A", "C", "D", but not "B"

My problems are:

- Registered group users, can access the "Welcome kit (C)" but they don't see the "Lessons overview (B)".
- If I add "registered" in the "guest" access group, the problem is that Subscribers users see the whole A, B, C, D content that is not good and confusing.

Is that setup possible?

I have tried many different solutions in the past days but didn't come to a proper setup.

Thanks a lot for any help.

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master