Advice on Teacher Students File access

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ROUBOS
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Advice on Teacher Students File access

Post by ROUBOS » Sat Feb 20, 2021 9:46 pm

Hi all,
it's been while since I used Joomla last. I need to create a simple site for registered users only and need your advice.
I just need a teacher account to upload files for students. Now these files will be categorized by classroom, so registered students will be able to access files for their classroom only.

I need your advice on how to tackle this and the teacher, student per classroom access levels.
Also please advice on a file manager to use. I'm currently looking at Phoca Download as it is free.

So do I create a Teacher user and student users, but how do I group the students as per classroom they are enrolled in? Do I create a different access level per classroom? And then add each student to his/her classroom access level?

Wouldn't all Classrooms have the same access levels as registered users?
If I create Class A, Class B and Class C and then add students under each level, then create file categories to be access only by Class A, B or C. Would that work?

I hope I'm making sense.

I tried using Moodle but it had far too many features. Hope to achieve this using joomla, and hope it is friendly enough for the teacher to upload files per classroom from the front end.

Any help would be appreciated.
thanks in advance.

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Advice on Teacher Students File access

Post by AMurray » Sat Feb 20, 2021 10:54 pm

I'd +1 👍 Phoca Download, as I think it will cover everything you need to do.