Is there a web services layer for Joomla?

For Joomla! 3.x Coding related discussions, please use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general

Moderator: ooffick

Forum rules
Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.
Locked
User avatar
TheEdge
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:14 am
Contact:

Is there a web services layer for Joomla?

Post by TheEdge » Fri Aug 05, 2016 7:46 am

Hi,

Has the J! project got an official REST API that can be used to manage a running Joomla site? At this stage it looks like we will need to manage at least: articles, categories, tags and perhaps even a menu.

Ultimately I have a C# application that needs to make changes to a Joomla website.

So I am looking for ideas on how best to tackle this. I don't want to modify the database directly (although we have access) and if possible am not looking to create my own REST service running inside J! if something else is already out there.

All pointers greatly appreciated.

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Is there a web services layer for Joomla?

Post by itoctopus » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:17 pm

Joomla doesn't have a REST API built in - there are some extensions, however, that provide this feature. You can search the JED for these extensions. I'm not sure, however, that these extensions will work as you want them right out of the box, it might be that you need to make some modifications to them.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

User avatar
TheEdge
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a web services layer for Joomla?

Post by TheEdge » Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:10 am

Here is some more information on this topic. It goes into the necessary technical depth of what is being proposed and how it will be done http://joomla.stackexchange.com/questio ... 7393#17393


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 3.x Coding”