Is it possible to provide my own search form action Topic is solved

For Joomla! 3.x Coding related discussions, you could also use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general

Moderators: ooffick, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Locked
vicn1222
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2021 10:34 pm

Is it possible to provide my own search form action

Post by vicn1222 » Sat Aug 14, 2021 4:42 pm

Hi,

I am using protostar template. I need to provide my own search form action url, because my data are not coming from joomla articles. I need to search the data from another database. So I have to give my own search engine.

The current protostar search action is

Code: Select all

<form action="/" method="post" class="form-inline" role="search">
or for smart search, it is

Code: Select all

<form id="mod-finder-searchform109" action="/component/finder/search" method="get" class="form-search" role="search">
Is there a way to set search form action url, so I can re-use the existing module. Otherwise I would have to write my own search module.

Thanks
Last edited by imanickam on Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved topic » from General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x to Joomla! 3.x Coding

vicn1222
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2021 10:34 pm

Re: Is it possible to provide my own search form action

Post by vicn1222 » Sat Aug 14, 2021 11:08 pm

Never mind, I just wrote my own search module.

Joomla has grown to much more than a blog creation site. It has become all types of website development framework. I hope it can be more customizable.

I am revamping my site using Joomla framework. My codes and databases are completely separated from Joomla codes and database. Therefore search is performed in my own database.

The current search module can't be used because I can't set the search form's action callback.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30832
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Is it possible to provide my own search form action

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Aug 15, 2021 6:44 am

Write a search plugin.

There is a plugin for each type of content.

https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Creating_a_search_plugin


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 3.x Coding”