Update server "tutorial"

Did you find a bug in Joomla! 3.x but aren't sure? This forum is the place to help figure out if the problem is a bug and how to report it. If you are an experienced Joomla! user and are certain that you have found a bug please use the Bug Tracker to submit your issue.
This forum is for discussion about bugs and to get help with reporting them to the Bug Tracker: https://issues.joomla.org

Moderator: ooffick

Forum rules
Please use the official Bug Tracker to report a bug: https://issues.joomla.org
Locked
HRADigital
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:50 pm

Update server "tutorial"

Post by HRADigital » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:56 am

Hi.

I have developed a few Joomla's extensions, and set up an update server for them:
"http://joomla.example.com/extension-name.xml"

I seam to be having two problems with this.
The first is, for every extension I have, Joomla seams to add a new update server, although there's only one (with several extensions).
Shouldn't it use just one update server's reference?
If I install 10 extensions from the same server, will it add 10 references to that server, or add 10 new servers?

The second is, when I deploy to the server an update for any of my extensions (sometimes, all at the same time), update the "update manifest" and "extension manifest" files to the updated version number, and ask Joomla to perform an update, it always tells me that everything is already updated...
I always have to update all extensions manually, because Joomla doesn't seam to find updates automatically.
What am I doing wrong here?

HRADigital
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Update server "tutorial"

Post by HRADigital » Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:47 pm

Is this a Bug, or am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
ot2sen
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10421
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
Contact:

Re: Update server "tutorial"

Post by ot2sen » Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:58 pm

There is a tutorial at:
https://docs.joomla.org/Deploying_an_Update_Server

Even though there is a collection type, the recommendation is still to use the extension type for individual extensions as yours.
Shouldn´t be much trouble to categorise your update URL in subs like
"http://joomla.example.com/extensionname ... -name1.xml"
"http://joomla.example.com/extensionname ... -name2.xml"

Concerning the updates not being found: Did you add the new version at top of the update xml and keep the older below?
Ole Bang Ottosen
Dansk frivillig Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk
OpenTranslators Core Team opentranslators.org

HRADigital
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Update server "tutorial"

Post by HRADigital » Mon Oct 26, 2015 6:11 pm

Cheers otsen.
I already read that tutorial, and my update server follows those instructions.
ot2sen wrote:Concerning the updates not being found: Did you add the new version at top of the update xml and keep the older below?
What do you mean by this?
I only use one version in the update manifest:

Code: Select all

<updates>
    <update>
        <version>X.X.X</version>
    </update>
<updates>
And one version (that coincides with the previous) in the extension's manifest file.

User avatar
ot2sen
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10421
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
Contact:

Re: Update server "tutorial"

Post by ot2sen » Mon Oct 26, 2015 6:22 pm

Try have a look at the following reply for a similar question. Duplicating a section when adding a new version in your extension-name.xml

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2199 ... repository
Ole Bang Ottosen
Dansk frivillig Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk
OpenTranslators Core Team opentranslators.org

HRADigital
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Update server "tutorial"

Post by HRADigital » Mon Oct 26, 2015 6:52 pm

ot2sen wrote:Try have a look at the following reply for a similar question. Duplicating a section when adding a new version in your extension-name.xml
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2199 ... repository
ot2sen, UR Da Man!!!
I didn't realize I needed a separate node for each release I'd deployed.
I kept "updating" the same node's version.

I will test this later on, but I'm sure it will work great!!

NOTE: Maybe the sentence "A separate <update> definition will be required for each version of your extension you release." should be emphasized in Joomla's docs.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 3.x Bug Reporting”