Joomla 3.4.5 bug in menu manager

Did you find a bug in Joomla! 3.x but aren't sure? This forum is the place to help figure out if the problem is a bug and how to report it. If you are an experienced Joomla! user and are certain that you have found a bug please use the Bug Tracker to submit your issue.
This forum is for discussion about bugs and to get help with reporting them to the Bug Tracker: https://issues.joomla.org

Moderator: ooffick

Forum rules
Please use the official Bug Tracker to report a bug: https://issues.joomla.org
Locked
User avatar
JLinker
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:29 pm
Contact:

Joomla 3.4.5 bug in menu manager

Post by JLinker » Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:01 pm

Hi,

In Joomla 3.4.5 with French admin:
when I try to select an article in order to create a menu link, there is a javascript error:

SyntaxError: Unexpected identifier 'article'. Expected ')' to end a argument list.

The console says the error is here in the iframe attribute:
name="Sélectionner ou changer l'article"

I think the apostrophe is not escaped and breaks the opening of the lightbox that allows to choose an article for the menu link.
I haven't tested all link types but the error will probably appear for all languages or menu types presenting an apostrophe in the iframe title.

Temporary fix:
Modify the translation string in the admin language file you're using for your Joomla admin.
For example, in french, I had to modify COM_CONTENT_CHANGE_ARTICLE, line 24 in /ROOT/administrator/language/fr-FR/fr-FR.com_content.ini.

I changed "Sélectionner ou changer l'article" to "Sélectionner ou changer un article"
Removing the apostrophe fixed the issue.

Cheers
JLinker Facebook Tabs for Joomla, Virtuemart, Kunena, K2, JEvents, Hikashop, J2Store | JLinker Menu Generator | https://www.jlinker.com

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.4.5 bug in menu manager

Post by itoctopus » Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:37 pm

It can also be:

"Sélectionner ou changer l\'article"

This ensures that the wording is not changed.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11762
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.4.5 bug in menu manager

Post by brian » Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:29 pm

You are using an outdated French language pack. Please update it
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

User avatar
JLinker
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Joomla 3.4.5 bug in menu manager

Post by JLinker » Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:50 pm

maybe but the issue here is that a ' in the specified language string creates a javascript error in the menu manager. shouldn't joomla escape the string before using it? i'm not used to escape ' character in my language files and it's never been a problem.
is the ' character escaped in more recent language files?
JLinker Facebook Tabs for Joomla, Virtuemart, Kunena, K2, JEvents, Hikashop, J2Store | JLinker Menu Generator | https://www.jlinker.com


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 3.x Bug Reporting”