Web Installer Defaulting to "root" with No Password - Fresh Install

Did you find a bug in Joomla! 3.x but aren't sure? This forum is the place to help figure out if the problem is a bug and how to report it. If you are an experienced Joomla! user and are certain that you have found a bug please use the Bug Tracker to submit your issue.
This forum is for discussion about bugs and to get help with reporting them to the Bug Tracker: https://issues.joomla.org

Moderator: ooffick

Forum rules
Please use the official Bug Tracker to report a bug: https://issues.joomla.org
TomRivers
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Web Installer Defaulting to "root" with No Password - Fresh Install

Post by TomRivers » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:39 pm

While I have successfully implemented a variety of other CMS packages over the years, this is my first attempt at using Joomla so I apologize if I have missed something simple. I have attempted to find the answer to this question both here, in the documentation, in the FAQ's, and through repeated web searches to no avail. After reading the INSTALL file in the installation directory I know I can manually configure the package as a workaround but I like the idea of using the preconfigured procedure considering I am still new to this CMS.

I am installing this on a Fedora 24 Linux server I own that is co-located in a local hosting facility and I routinely access via SSH. The files from the distribution archive named Joomla_3.6.2-Stable-Full_Package.zip have been successfully unpacked and the web installer fires up as expected. My database is running properly and I have created a new Joomla user with a password and all the appropriate permissions as per the installation instructions. I have been able to successfully access the database with this user, create tables, insert values, and drop them from the command line.