Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

General questions relating to Joomla! 4.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
markusfranke
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:01 am

Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by markusfranke » Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:07 am

I am planning to migrate from a discontinued ThemeXpert template to a new template and came across protostar that comes preinstalled with Joomla 3.
Will this template also be part of Joomla 4 or shall I rather think about switching to Cassiopeia Template to get some kind of "LTS support"? ;-)

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23172
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by pe7er » Thu Jun 24, 2021 10:18 am

Welcome to Joomla forum!

No, Protostar won't be part of Joomla 4.

For a Joomla 4 website, I would use Cassiopeia Template instead.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

markusfranke
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:01 am

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by markusfranke » Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:11 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Would it be possible to use Cassiopeia Template already on Joomla 3.9?

Richard67
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by Richard67 » Thu Jun 24, 2021 7:25 pm

> Would it be possible to use Cassiopeia Template already on Joomla 3.9?

No, at least not out of the box, as it uses Bootstrap 5 and also new Joomla 4 methods to load css and js, and many other changes specific to Joomla4.

markusfranke
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:01 am

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by markusfranke » Thu Jun 24, 2021 8:58 pm

Ok, thanks for the clarification.
Then I will have to find a template that works with Joomla 3.9/3.10 and will also be supported with Joomla 4 to be "safe" in the long run.

markusfranke
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:01 am

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by markusfranke » Sun Jun 27, 2021 7:40 pm

Does anybody have a recommendation for a free template that is supported with Joomla 3.x and is likely to work with Joomla 4.x?

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6900
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by AMurray » Sun Jun 27, 2021 10:46 pm

I use JoomShaper's Helix Ultimate. It' a great template, suits my needs. They are now working on v2.0 of the template, a J4 compatible template (that it is for J3/J4) and recently released their RC1. So a few steps from stable release.

What you could do then is switch to Helix, and tweak your site around that template (concerning module positions etc, they are different from Protostar). So that when 3.10 and 4.0 are ready, you will be.

I can't give you the link (against forum rules) but search Google "joomshaper Helix Ultimate" and you will find links to it.

However, I think also, if you use Protostar on J3 now, it would be relatively painless to migrate to J4 and use Cassieopia, the worst you would likely need to do is change a few modules to the relevant positions of the new template and maybe tweak the settings a little.

Noting that it will be Joomla 3.10 that will be the only J3.x version capable of the migration to J4.0
Regards - A Murray

User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by jk1 » Tue Jun 29, 2021 8:45 pm

markusfranke wrote:
Thu Jun 24, 2021 6:11 pm
Thanks for the reply.

Would it be possible to use Cassiopeia Template already on Joomla 3.9?
There is an older version of the Cassiopeia template based on bootstrap 4 and adjusted for Joomla 3.x at:
https://github.com/korenevskiy/J3-Cassiopeia-Template
But for site owners without solid programming skills Cassiopeia is much more difficult to customize, compared to Joomla 3.x templates, which in my opinion still is a release blocker for J4-stable, at least until somebody comes up with a good documentation and/or tutorial.

rgtr
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by rgtr » Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:24 am

Hi
When you upgrade from J3 to J4 - Cassiopeia works absolutely great.
Just reset all the module positions.
Here is my own site in J3 - http://rgtr.tdocplus.co.uk/
and in J4 - http://tdocplus.co.uk/2b_RTR_400/
The facebook page shown in J4 is just testing my module !
Richard
MODERATORS - PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not remove the links ... they are the answer to this guys question.

markusfranke
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2021 5:01 am

Re: Protostar Template in Joomla 4?

Post by markusfranke » Sun Jul 04, 2021 8:55 pm

Dear all,

thanks for the brilliant answers and suggestions.
I think I will go with JoomShaper's Helix Ultimate for a while and check how it's working with my current design.

Best regards,
Markus


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 4.x”